Don't have an account? Click Here
ASU Wins Sixth Straight Pac-10 Men's Golf Title
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 04/26/2000
Print RSS
Related Links

April 26, 2000

Final Team & Individual Results

TEMPE, Ariz. - Junior Paul Casey shot a 67 in the final round of the 41st annual Pac-10 Men's Golf Championship to break Tiger Woods conference par-72 mark and win his third straight Pac-10 title at The ASU Karsten Golf Course (par-72, 7027 yards). Casey also led Arizona State to its sixth straight league title, as the Sun Devils shot 56-under 1,384 (339-351-342-352) to also set Pac-10 records for low score and best score under par.

Casey finished at 23-under 265 (66-65-67-67) and broke Woods' Pac-10 par-72 record of 18-under 270 set in the 1996 Championships at Big Canyon Country Club in Newport Beach, Calif., as he shot 61-65-73-71. Casey last year shot a 15-under 265 at the Broadmoor Golf Club in Seattle on the par-70 course, including a NCAA record 60 in the final round.

No player had won three straight Pac-10 titles, although Sherman Finger of USC won three straight Pac-8 crowns from 1963-65.

ASU won the title by 37 strokes over Oregon State, as Sun Devil senior Jonas Runnquist also tied for fifth with a 9-under 279 (66-69-71-73). Other Sun Devils in the top 15 include sophomore Matt Jones, who tied for seventh with an 8-under 280 (72-71-66-71), and junior Jin Park, who was 15th at 4-under 284 (65-77-70-72). ASU has now won 11 Pac-10 titles since joining the league in fall of 1978.

Casey is now 43-under-par in 12 Pac-10 Championship rounds, as he shot a 15-under 265 (67-66-72-60) in last year's event and had a 5-under 283 (76-73-68-66) in Orinda, Calif., in 1998. His stroke average in the Pac-10 Championship is 67.75.

ASU broke its own records with its 56-under 1,384. ASU set the low team-score record in Seattle last year with a 3-over-par 1,403 at the par-70 Broadmoor Golf Club. The previous par record was 22-under 1,418 by Arizona State in 1990, also held at Karsten.

Casey now has six championships for his career, tied for fourth on the ASU career wins list as he passed 1993 NCAA Champion Todd Demsey, who had five. Casey is now tied with Charlie Gibson, who won six titles from 1972-75, while four-time All-American Billy Mayfair won eight titles from 1985-88. Sun Devil legend Phil Mickelson leads the list with an amazing 16 wins from 1989-92.

Casey, the 1999 English Amateur Champion, won the ASU Thunderbird/SAVANE Invitational on April 15-16 with a 9-under 207 (69-69-69). His Pac-10 victory also marked the third title Casey has won at Karsten, as he won the 1998 NCAA West Regional in Tempe with a 10-under 206 (70-65-71). ASU has won its past four tournaments at Karsten, winning the 1999 and 2000 Thunderbird/SAVANE titles and the 1998 NCAA West Regional. ASU has also won four of its past five tournaments.

The Pac-10 victory also gives Casey back-to-back titles for the second time in his career, as he won the ASU Thunderbird/SAVANE on April 15-16. Casey also won back-to-back tournaments in his freshman year (1997-98) when he won the NCAA West Regional and the Pac-10 championships, becoming the first Sun Devil to win back-to-back tournaments since Phil Mickelson did it in 1991-92

Oregon State's Tim Mickelson shot a tournament-low 64 in the third round and came back with a 69 in the final round to finish at 13-under 275 (72-70-64-69) and notch second-place honors. Beaver teammates John Lepak (70-67-72-69=278/T-3rd) and Dustin Wayne (70-64-67-70=281/10th) also finished in the top 10. Oregon State shot 7-under 353 on the day to finish at 19-under 1,421 and finish second as a team.

California's Han Lee tied for 12th with a 5-under 283 (67-74-71-71) to lead the Golden Bears, who finised third at 12-under 1,428.

Oregon's Chris Carnahan (71-67-73-72) and Ryan Lavoie (72-72-71-68) finished at 5-under 283 and tied for 12th. Andrew Tredway (65-73-72-76=286) finished at 2-under as the Ducks finished in fourth at 8-under 1,432 (351-356-364-361).

Arizona's Ricky Barnes finished at 10-under 278 (71-69-68-70) and tied for third, while teammate Derek Gillespie finished at 8-under 280 (71-70-71-68/T-7th). The Wildcats finished 3-over 1,443 (362-357-362-362) and in fifth. Stanford was led by Eric Dahlbert, who shot a 2-under 286 (70-74-70-72/T-17th) as the Cardinal finished with an 8-over 1,448 and in sixth.

Washington's Gordy Scutt finished at 3-under 285 (68-73-70-74/T-16th) as the Huskies finished at 7-over 1,447 and in seventh.

UCLA's Travis Johnson tied for fifth with a 9-under 279 (69-70-65-75), as the Bruins shot 14-over 374 and finished at 15-over 1,455 (366-369-346-374) and in eighth. Bruin teammate Brandon DiTullio, who won the 1998 ASU Thunderbird/SAVANE Invitational at Karsten, was 2-under 286 (71-73-68-74).

USC's David Oh finished 11th as he shot a final round 68 to end at 6-under 282 (74-71-69-68). USC finished at 17-over 1457 (371-362-365-359) and in ninth, as Washington State shot 1,466 (365-374-359-368).

oBest Individual Score Under Par: 23-under 265 by Paul Casey
(Broke Tiger Woods' 18-under 270 set at 1996 Pac-10 Championships)

oLow Total Individual Score: 265 by Paul Casey (matches his own record set last year at par-70 Broadmoor Club in Seattle)

oLow Team Score: 1,384 by Arizona State (broke ASU's 1,403 score set last year at par-70 Broadmoor Golf Club in Seattle)

oBest Team Score Under Par: 56-under 1,384 by Arizona State (broke ASU's 22-under 1,418 at Karsten Golf Course in Tempe)

MAKING HISTORY: Arizona State's Paul Casey has won three straight Pac-10 crowns in his first three seasons. A look at others who have won three or more conference crowns, and note that it has only been done twice since 1985, by Casey and PGA Tour member Justin Leonard:

PlayerSchoolConferenceYears (Titles)
Justin LeonardTexasSWC1991-94 (4)*
Paul CaseyArizona StatePac-101998-2000 (3)
Pat FogartySt. John'sBIG EAST1982-84 (3)
Tim GrahamMcNeese StateSouthland1977-79 (3)
Lindy MillerOklahoma StateBig 81976-78 (3)
Ken EzellFurmanSouthern1975-77 (3)
John DavisLa.-LafayetteSouthland1974-76 (3)*
B.R. McLendonLSUSEC1965-67 (3)
Sherman FingerUSCPac-81964-66 (3)
John KonsekOhio StateBig 101958-60 (3)
Fred WamplerPurdueBig 101948-50 (3)
Ed WhiteTexasSWC1933-35 (3)

*Leonard shared 1992 SWC title with Jason Hill of Texas Tech.
*Davis shared 1975 title with Scott Morgan of Louisiana Tech.

SUN DEVILS AS PAC-10 CHAMPS: A list of Sun Devils who have won Pac-10 individual titles (year and score noted): Scott Watkins and Dan Croonquist in 1979 (277), Jim Bertoncino in 1980 (280), Dan Forsman and Tony Grimes in 1981 (283), Phil Mickelson in 1990 (278), Scott Johnson in 1997 (278), and Paul Casey in 1998 (283), 1999 (265) and 2000 (265).

ON THE CHARTS: Paul Casey has already captured six championships in his 32-tournament career. Casey won the 2000 ASU Thunderbird/SAVANE Invitational, the 1998 NCAA West Regional, the 1998, 1999 and 2000 Pac-10 Championships and the 1998 USC/Cleveland Golf Southwestern Classic. A look at Casey on the ASU career wins list:

Rk.Name (Years)Wins
1.Phil Mickelson (1989-92)16
2.Billy Mayfair (1985-88)8
3.Charlie Gibson (1972-75)6
4.Paul Casey (1997-present)5
5.Todd Demsey (1992-95)5

Arizona State Sun Devils Men's Golf
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals