Don't have an account? Click Here
Men's Relay Squad Breaks School Record
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 06/21/1999
Print RSS
Related Links

February 6, 1999

AMES, Iowa. - Arizona State continued its record-breaking ways in the second week of its indoor track season as the Sun Devils' 4x400 men's relay squad broke an 11-year old school record with a time of 3:08.35 to outpace Iowa by more than one second at the Cyclone Classic, hosted by Iowa State. The relay team of Marcus Brunson, Brian Raspberry, Tony Berrian and Vondre Armour eclipsed the old ASU best of 3:08.85 set in 1988 and provisionally qualified for the NCAA Indoor Championships. It was the fourth-fastest time run in the nation this year.

ASU's women's 4x400 relay squad also posted an NCAA provisional mark by finishing second in 3:38.32. The Sun Devils' only individual winner was two-time Indoor All-American Fiona Daly, as she cleared an NCAA provisional mark of 5' 10.75" to capture the high jump.

Including Daly, ASU's women posted five top five individual finishes. Senior Dawnyell Linder finished second in both the 60 and 200 meters, clocking times of 7.40 and 24.12, respectively. Priscilla Hein ran 4:50.31 to finish fourth in the mile and sophomore Kelly MacDonald placed fourth in the 3,000 meters in 9:47.03.

Raspberry had a busy day as the senior clocked the second-fastest indoor 200 meters in ASU history, finishing sixth in 21.40. He also advanced to the finals of the 60 meters and finished fifth in 6.77. Brunson and Berrian, who bested collegiate and school records last week, both did not compete in individual events.

ASU's split squad also competed at the Days Inn Invitational in Flagstaff, Ariz., and junior LaVell Robinson-Blanchard was the only Sun Devil to win, capturing the 400 meters in 47.66. The Sun Devils take on Arizona and Northern Arizona in an indoor double dual meet next Saturday, Feb. 3, at Flagstaff.

Arizona State Sun Devils Track and Field
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals