Don't have an account? Click Here
ASU Wrestling Drops to Top Ranked Oklahoma State
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 01/27/2013
Print RSS
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Related Links

Jan. 27, 2013

TEMPE, Ariz. - The Arizona State University wrestling team was overpowered by No. 2 Oklahoma State in Sunday afternoon’s 44-6 loss at Wells Fargo Arena, the Devils’ lone true home dual of the season.

In front of a crowd of 848, the Oklahoma State Cowboys (11-0, 2-0 Big 12) showed why they are among the nation’s elite against a young Sun Devil squad (7-9, 2-1 Pac-12) that started eight underclassmen against the Cowboys.

Arizona State had large holes in their starting line ups as key starters senior Jake Meredith (197) and freshmen Blake Stauffer (174) sat out Sunday afternoon with injuries that were sustained in the last couple weeks.

Though there were no true wins in today’s match with ASU’s only points coming from a forfeit at 141 pounds, but sophomores Joel Smith and Kevin Radford provided much entertainment in their hard-fought duals against ranked opponents.

Smith (5-6), wrestling at 157 pounds, kept things close with #10 Alex Dieringer (19-2) in a 4-1 loss.

Radford (17-12) came out strong against #12 Christopher Chionuma, coming up with the first takedown of the match. But from there, Chionuma was able to prevail, scoring a late takedown to seal the 6-3 victory.

That was as close as ASU would get against their opponents, losing the next four matches by bonus points before Matt Kraus’ forfeit victory to end the day.

The Sun Devils now travel to Ames, Iowa, to take on the Iowa State Cyclones Feb. 1 at 7 p.m. CT. 

149 Jordan Oliver (Oklahoma State) won by pin over Preston McCalmon (Arizona State) 4:58. 0 6
157 Alex Dieringer (Oklahoma State) won by decision over Joel Smith (Arizona State) 4-1. 0 3
165 Tyler Caldwell (Oklahoma State) won by pin over Rush Hall (Arizona State) 2:44. 0 6
174 Chris Perry (Oklahoma State) won by pin over Raymond Waters (Arizona State) 0:48. 0 6
184 Christopher Chionuma (Oklahoma State) won by decision over Kevin Radford (Arizona State) 6-3. 0 3
197 Blake Rosholt (Oklahoma State) won by forfeit over Unknown (Unattached) . 0 6
285 Alan Gelogaev (Oklahoma State) won by pin over Levi Cooper (Arizona State) 1:26. 0 6
125 Edward Klimara (Oklahoma State) won by major decision over Dalton Miller (Arizona State) 13-5. 0 4
133 Tyler Dorrell (Oklahoma State) won by major decision over Ares Carpio (Arizona State) 12-3. 0 4
141 Matthew Kraus (Arizona State) won by forfeit over Unknown (Unattached) . 6 0
6 44
Arizona State Sun Devils Wrestling
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals