Don't have an account? Click Here
Ike Diogu Named First AP Preseason All-American In Sun Devil History
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 11/12/2003
Print RSS
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Related Links

Nov. 12, 2003

Arizona State sophomore Ike Diogu, the 2003 Pac-10 Freshman of the Year and the only freshman to earn All-Pac-10 last season, has been named a preseason Associated Press All-American, it was announced Wednesday. Diogu is the first Sun Devil to earn the preseason honor and just the 11th Pac-10 player in the history of the poll, which began in 1986. The 72 media members annually select one five-man preseason team.

Diogu, whose 19.0 points per game mark last year is the third-best by a freshman in Pac-10 history, was an honorable mention All-American last year by The Associated Press. Diogu and Carmelo Anthony, a second-team selection, were the only freshmen to receive votes.

Diogu is joined on the first team by Raymond Felton of North Carolina, Jameer Nelson of St. Joseph's, Rickey Paulding of Missouri and Emeka Okafor of UCONN.

The Garland, Texas, native was the only Pac-10 player who ranked in the league's top five in scoring and rebounding as he finished third in scoring (19.0 ppg.) and fifth in rebounding (7.8 rpg.). He averaged 19.9 points and 9.6 rebounds in the final 14 games and had 12 20-point contests.

The Garland, Texas, native set ASU freshman records for starts (32), points (607), field goals made (209), rebounds (249) and minutes (1,030). He set school records for free throws made (180) and attempted (245) and his 18 rebounds vs. Oregon in the Pac-10 Tournament set the ASU freshman single-game mark and is a Pac-10 Tournament record.

ASU advanced to the second round of the NCAA Tournament and finished 20-12 overall and fourth in the Pac-10 at 11-7.

2003-2004 Associated Press Preseason All-American Team
Ike Diogu, Arizona State, So.
Raymond Felton, North Carolina, So.
Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph's, Sr.
Emeka Okafor, UCONN, Jr.
Rickey Paulding, Missouri, Sr.

Pac-10 Preseason AP All-Americans (poll began in 1986-87) 1988-89: Sean Elliott, Arizona 1993-94: Jason Kidd, California 1994-95: Damon Stoudamire, Arizona 1996-97: Brevin Knight, Stanford 1997-98: Mike Bibby, Arizona; Miles Simon, Arizona 2000-01: Loren Woods, Arizona 2001-02: Casey Jacobsen, Stanford 2002-03: Luke Walton, Arizona; Jason Gardner, Arizona 2003-04: Ike Diogu, Arizona State

Arizona State Sun Devils Athletics
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals