Don't have an account? Click Here
First Round Updates From The ASU Thunderbird Invitational
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 04/05/2013
Print RSS
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Related Links

April 5, 2013

Photo Gallery

--Click here for ASU Thunderbird Invitational champions and records
--Click here for more information on the ASU Karsten Golf Course
--Click here for ASU men's golf statistics from Golfstat  

After 18 holes of play at the ASU Thunderbird Invitational, the Arizona State men's golf team sits in 14th-place, looking to take advantage of playing at its home course for the remaining two rounds. Spencer Lawson and Austin Quick lead the way thus far for the Sun Devils.

Lawson, playing as an individual, placed himself tied for 16th after the first round after he shot an even-par 71. Quick, who finished second in this tournament a year ago, shot a one-over par 72, good enough for 28th-place. He birdied holes 14 and 17 and recovered from three-straight bogies on the first three holes.

Also tied for 28th are fellow-Sun Devils Max Rottluff as well as Chris Russo, who is also playing as an individual. Rottluff had two birdies on the day, coming on holes one and eight.

Freshman Trey Ka'ahanui and senior Jin Song, despite the experience difference, both finished out the round tied for 40th at two-over par.

Jon Rahm currently sits tied for 60th at four-over par, while Mathias Schjoelberg shot six-over par as the Sun Devils look to improve on their performances heading into the second round.

Third-ranked University of New Mexico leads all schools to this point at eight-under par, five strokes ahead of second-place San Diego State. Arizona State shot a combined 12-over par, but is only a few strokes out of the top-ten.

Nick Chianello of Oregon State sits atop the leaderboard at seven-under par, two strokes ahead of the field.

The second round begins Saturday morning at 7:30 a.m. (PT), and live scoring will be available on

Arizona State, Arizona, California (1), Cal State Northridge, Denver, Harvard, Hawaii, Iowa State, New Mexico (3), New Mexico State, Oregon State, Pepperdine, San Diego, San Diego State, Seattle, St. John's, UC Davis and UNLV

Fourteen ASU teams have won the Thunderbird Invitational, with ASU winning the title in 1984, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2004, 2008 and 2009.

Eight Sun Devils have won the individual titles on nine occasions, with Phil Mickelson (1991 and 1992) the only multiple winner. Other Sun Devil individual winners include Mark Sollenberger (1974), Jim Carter (1984), Larry Barber (1994), Todd Demsey (1995), Jeff Quinney (2000), Paul Casey (2001) and Alejandro Canizares (2003), Stephan Gross (2009-shared). 

Arizona State Sun Devils Men's Golf
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals