Don't have an account? Click Here
Second Round Concludes From ASU Thunderbird Invitational
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 04/06/2013
Print RSS
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Related Links

April 6, 2013

Photo Gallery

--Click here for ASU Thunderbird Invitational champions and records
--Click here for more information on the ASU Karsten Golf Course
--Click here for ASU men's golf statistics from Golfstat 

Two rounds of play from the ASU Thunderbird Invitational are in the books, with Arizona State looking to gain momentum in the final round heading into future tournaments. After 36 holes, Jon Rahm and the Sun Devils sit at 14th-place.

After shooting a four-over par round of 75 Friday, Rahm followed up with a three-under par round of 68 Saturday, jumping up the leader-board and tying for 24th-place heading into Sunday's final round. Rahm had four birdies on the day to only one bogey, and recorded back-to-back birdies on holes 13 and 14. He currently stands at one-over par, only two strokes out of the top ten.

Spencer Lawson, playing as an individual and coming into the second round tied for 16th-place, shot one-over par on the day and also is tied for 24th. He had three birdies on the day.

Max Rottluff continued his consistent play for the Sun Devils, following up his Friday round of 72 with a round of 73. Heading into the final round he remains at three-over par, tied for 37th-place. Trey Ka'ahanui, also playing as an individual, has shot both rounds of 73. His four-over par has him tied for 42nd with four other golfers.

Austin Quick, who finished second in last year's ASU Thunderbird Invitational and shot one-over par over the course of the first round, struggled to find his rhythm through the second round. He shot a seven-over par 78 and is now tied for 68th.

Mathias Schoelberg shot four-over par on the day, while Alberto Sanchez was six-over par. They are tied for 82nd and 95th respectively.

Third-ranked New Mexico has led all schools throughout the first 36 holes, and head into Sunday's final 18 holes four strokes ahead of second-place San Diego and Oregon State at eight-under par. Nick Chianello of Oregon State holds the individual lead for the second-straight day as well at 10-under par, two strokes ahead of his closest competitor, Scott Fernandez of Iowa State.

The final round will tee of Sunday morning at 7:30 a.m. (PT), with live scoring available on 

Arizona State, Arizona, California (1), Cal State Northridge, Denver, Harvard, Hawaii, Iowa State, New Mexico (3), New Mexico State, Oregon State, Pepperdine, San Diego, San Diego State, Seattle, St. John's, UC Davis and UNLV

Fourteen ASU teams have won the Thunderbird Invitational, with ASU winning the title in 1984, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2004, 2008 and 2009.

Eight Sun Devils have won the individual titles on nine occasions, with Phil Mickelson (1991 and 1992) the only multiple winner. Other Sun Devil individual winners include Mark Sollenberger (1974), Jim Carter (1984), Larry Barber (1994), Todd Demsey (1995), Jeff Quinney (2000), Paul Casey (2001) and Alejandro Canizares (2003), Stephan Gross (2009-shared). 

Arizona State Sun Devils Men's Golf
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals