Don't have an account? Click Here
Bizuneh and MacDonald Named Cross Country MVPs
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 12/15/1999
Print RSS
Related Links

Dec. 15, 1999

TEMPE, Ariz. - Sophomore Fasil Bizuneh and junior Kelly MacDonald were named the Jerry Jobski Most Valuable Runners for the 1999 Arizona State cross country season, head coach Walt Drenth announced today. Bizuneh, a native of Indianapolis, Ind., earned all-conference, all-region and All-American honors in leading the ASU men's squad to its first NCAA Championship appearance, finishing 14th. MacDonald, a native of Tualatin, Ore., received all-region and All-American acclaim in pacing the Sun Devils to school record finishes in the Pac-10 (2nd), West Regional (3rd) and NCAA Championships (12th).

Drenth also presented eight other awards at the team's postseason banquet. Redshirt freshman Dan Bubany (4.0 GPA) and junior Mary Duerbeck (3.95 GPA) were recognized for their academic achievement. Most Improved Runner awards went to redshirt freshman Jeremy Rasmussen and sophomore Lisa Aguilera. Rasmussen scored in each of ASU's three championship meets in his first season on the course while Aguilera earned all-conference honors with a team-best fourth-place finish at the Pac-10 Championships, a school record.

The Coaches Award, recognizing leadership on the team, went to Garrett Jensen and MacDonald. Jensen was ASU's only senior to run for either the men or women this year after transferring from Dartmouth. He had two top 20 finishes including a 17th-place effort at the Pac-10 Championships. Best Newcomer of the Year was awarded to Jensen and junior Colleen Burke. Burke had five top 20 finishes in her first season as a Sun Devil after transferring from Phoenix Community College.


Award: Men, Women
Jerry Jobski Most Valuable Runner: Fasil Bizuneh, Kelly MacDonald
Coaches Award: Garrett Jensen, Colleen Burke
Most Improved: Jeremy Rasmussen. Lisa Aguilera
Best Newcomer: Garrett Jensen, Colleen Burke
Academic Award: Dan Bubany, Mary Duerbeck
All-Pac-10, First Team: Fasil Bizuneh, Lisa Aguilera
All-Pac-10, Second Team: Colleen Burke, Kelly MacDonald
All-Region: Juan Chavira, Garrett Jensen, Fasil Bizuneh, Isaiah Festa, Colleen Burke, Lisa Aguilera, Kelly MacDonald.
All-American: Fasil Bizuneh, Kelly MacDonald
Arizona State Sun Devils Cross Country
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals