Don't have an account? Click Here
Men's Golf Tied For Third After 36 Holes; Jon Rahm Tied For Fourth
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 03/11/2013
Print RSS
Related Links

March 11, 2013

The Sun Devil men's golf team is tied for third after the first 36 holes of the 54-hole Lamkin Grips San Diego Classic, and freshman Jon Rahm is leading the way with a 2-under par 142 (72-70) that has him tied for fourth.

ASU is at 10-over 586 (302-284) and tied with Texas Tech. San Diego State leads the way at 2-under 574 (290-284).

Junior Austin Quick (77-74) are both tied for 35th at 7-over 151.

It is a return home for second-year Sun Devil head coach Tim Mickelson, who returns to his neighborhood this week at the San Diego Country Club in Chula Vista. The event is co-hosted by the University of San Diego and San Diego State. Mickelson grew up in San Diego and was the head coach at San Diego prior to coming to ASU in the summer of 2011. The field includes TCU, Texas Tech, Missouri, ASU, Arizona, Oregon State, San Diego, San Diego State, Louisville, Texas-Arlington, Pepperdine, Utah, sixth-ranked NAIA CSU San Marcos and local NAIA squad Point Loma Nazarene.

Rahm leads ASU with a 72.33 stroke average in nine events entering the tournament and won the Bill Cullum Invitational back on Oct. 22-23. He averages 4.54 on par-5 holes this year, 13th in the nation according to Golfstat and his five eagles ranks ninth in the nation, while his 93 birdies in fourth-best.

The San Diego Classic enters its sixth season and third as a two-day, 54-hole event. The tournament has previously served primarily as an opportunity for the local San Diego schools to compete against one another. This is the fourth time and the third year in a row that the San Diego Classic will take place at the San Diego Country Club. The inaugural event took place at the Chula Vista course, but then moved to the La Jolla Country Club in 2009 and then to The Farms Golf Club in Rancho Santa Fe, Calif., in 2010. It was a one-day, 36-hole tournament up until 2011. The University of San Diego took home the team title in 2008 and 2010, Point Loma Nazarene won in 2009 and SMU finished first in 2011, followed by Washington in 2012.

Arizona State Sun Devils Men's Golf
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals