Don't have an account? Click Here

  Steve Loy
Steve Loy

Player Profile
Last College:
Eastern New Mexico (1973)

Assistant Coach

Men's Golf Coach:

A 2002 Arizona State Hall of Distinction inductee who coached the Arizona State men's golf program for six seasons (1987-92). Led men's program to its first national title in 1990 and also won two Pac-10 titles (1989 and 1990) and tied for 1991 NCAA West Regional title. Mentored Phil Mickelson as he won 16 collegiate events, including three NCAA titles and coached 10 Sun Devils to 20 All-American honors. Won Pac-10 Coach of the Year in 1989 and 1990 and led ASU to 26 team titles wins in his tenure and had 25 medalists. Loy's teams won four straight Thunderbird Invitational titles (1989-92) in his final four years. A 1991 inductee into the Athletic Hall of Honors at Eastern New Mexico, where he graduated from in 1974, and a 1992 inductee into the National Junior College Coaches Hall of Fame. Coached at Scottsdale Community College from 1975-83 and at Arkansas from 1983-87 before coming to Arizona State.

All-Americans Coached Under Steve Loy (1987-92): Phil Mickelson (1989-92), Todd Demsey (1992), Brett Dean (1991-92), Per Johansson (1989-90), Jim Lemon (1990-91), Scott Frisch (1989-90), Jim Strickland (1988-89), Billy Mayfair (1987-88), Tom Stankowski (1987-88), Greg Cesario (1987)

Arizona State Sun Devils Men's Golf
FB Renewals