Don't have an account? Click Here
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Sutton, Bradford Make Outland, Nagurski Trophy Watch Lists
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 07/11/2013
Print RSS
Related Links


DALLAS - Arizona State University football student-athlete Will Sutton has been named to the Outland Trophy Preseason Watch List, and both Sutton and fellow Sun Devil Carl Bradford earned spots on the Bronko Nagurski Trophy Preseason Watch List, the Football Writers Association of America announced Thursday.

The Outland Trophy is presented to the nation’s most outstanding interior lineman and the Bronko Nagurski Trophy is awarded to the national defensive player of the year.

Sutton, a defensive tackle, and Bradford, a defensive end, were both earlier named to the Bednarik Award Watch List, given to the nation’s most outstanding defensive player, and Sutton also made the Maxwell Award Watch List, which also recognizes the nation’s top defensive player.

The duo’s combined 44 tackles for loss in 2012 are the most in ASU history, and they became the first pair of Sun Devils to record 20+ TFLs since Al Harris (22) and Bob Kohrs (20) in 1978, as well as post double digits in sacks in the same season since 1994.

Sutton became ASU's 18th Consensus All-American in 2012 after he posted 63 tackles, including 23.5 for loss and 13 sacks. He was also the recipient of the Pac-12 Pat Tillman Defensive Player of the Year award and the prestigious Morris Trophy, as well as the Kraft Fight Hunger Bowl Defensive MVP. He finished his junior year ranked second in the nation in 1.92 tackles for loss per game and third nationally with 1.08 sacks per game.

Sutton also served as the official starter for the 9th Annual Pat's Run Kids Run this past April and was named a finalist for the Outstanding Student-Athlete NCAA award.

Bradford ranked second on the team with 11.5 sacks and 20.5 tackles for loss en route to 81 total tackles, and also tied for the team lead with three forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries. Bradford's 1.58 tackles for loss per game ranked 11th in the nation in 2012 and second in the Pac-12 behind Sutton.

2013 Sun Devil Award Watch Lists
Outland Trophy (nation’s most outstanding interior lineman) – Will Sutton

Nagurski Trophy (national defensive player of the year) – Sutton, Carl Bradford

Mackey Award (nation’s most outstanding tight end) – Chris Coyle

Maxwell Award (nation’s most outstanding player) – Marion Grice, Taylor Kelly, Sutton

Bednarik Award (nation’s most outstanding defensive player) – Bradford, Sutton

Hornung Award (nation's most versatile player) - DJ Foster

Rimington Award (nation's top center) - Kody Koebensky 

Lott IMPACT Trophy (positive influence both on and off the field) - Alden Darby

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner will be chosen from those five finalists who are part of the 2013 FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association’s entire membership, selects the 25-man All-America Team and eventually the Nagurski finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner, the best defensive player in America.

The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet will be held on Dec. 9 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte. In addition to the 2013 Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner announcement, the banquet will also celebrate the recipient of the Bronko Nagurski Legends Award, sponsored by the CTC and Florida East Coast Railway. Georgia Tech’s Randy Rhino, a member of the FWAA’s 1972 All-America team, will be honored. Florida head coach Will Muschamp will be the keynote speaker at the banquet.

The Outland Trophy

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects the 25-man team and eventually the three Outland finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner. Only interior linemen on offense or defense are eligible for the award; ends are not eligible.

The list will be trimmed to six or seven semifinalists on Nov. 20. Five days later three Outland Trophy finalists will be named by the FWAA. The winner of the 68th Outland Trophy, named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn at the turn of the 20th century, will be announced on ESPN on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 12 from Disney’s Boardwalk in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be held on Jan. 9, 2014 in Omaha, Neb. This year, North Carolina State center Jim Ritcher, the 1979 Outland Trophy winner, will be honored and presented an Outland Trophy, which was not given in the era in which he won the award.

Arizona State Sun Devils Football
Inside Football
More Headlines
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals