Don't have an account? Click Here
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
ASU Wrestling Places Fourth At Pac-12 Championships
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 03/02/2014
Print RSS

STANFORD, Calif.—The Arizona State wrestling team placed fourth at the Pac-12 Wrestling Championships on Sunday, hosted by Stanford at Maples Pavilion.

ASU picked up 111 points, while Oregon State won the team race with 155.5 points.

The Sun Devils picked up a pair of runner-up finishes from Joel Smith at 157 and Nick Rex at 165. Along with the runner-ups, Matt Kraus (141), Preston McCalmon (149), and Blake Stauffer (184) finished in third place. Ares Carpio (125) and Josh DaSilveira (197) place fourth.

Smith made his run to the finals at 157 with a 14-5 major decision over Cal Poly’s Xavier Johnson, and then defeated CSUB’s Spencer Hill in a 13-6 decision. Smith then dropped an 8-0 major decision to the No. 1 seed, RJ Pena from Oregon State.

At 165, Rex took an opening-round bye before defeating CSUB’s David Meza in a 3-2 decision. In the finals, No. 1 seed Jim Wilson from Stanford came out on top in a 5-1 decision.

Stauffer remained in the winner’s bracket with a win via medical withdrawal over Stanford’s Zach Nevills before he fell to Boise State’s Jake Swartz, 3-2. In one of the two “Second-Place” matches of the night, Stauffer dropped a 5-2 decision to Oregon State’s Austin Morehead.

Stauffer and Morehead’s match was to decide which wrestler would claim the second automatic bid for the NCAA Wrestling Championships March 20-22 in Oklahoma City.

Other key wins for ASU include Kraus’ 11-2 major decision over Cal Poly’s Jacob Leon before he went on to defeat Boise State’s Brian Owen, the No. 4 seed, in a 5-4 decision for third place.

McCalmon picked up a pair of wins in the wrestle-back bracket, defeating Kyle Chene from Cal Poly in a 6-4 decision before he took down the No. 4 seed, Stanford’s Donovan Halpin, in a 3-1 sudden victory decision in the third-place match.

Complete Team Results
1. Oregon State – 155.5
2. Stanford – 134
3. Boise State – 128.5
4. Arizona State – 111
5. CSUB – 109.5
6. Cal Poly – 74.5

Complete Results
125 – Ares Carpio (Fourth Place)

First Round: BYE
Semifinals: (1) Evan Silver (Stanford) def. (4) Ares Carpio (ASU): Dec 10-7
Consolation 2nd Round: (4) Ares Carpio (ASU) def. Sergio Mendez (CSUB): Dec 5-2
Third/Fourth Place: Pat Rollins (Oregon State) def. Ares Carpio (ASU): Major 12-4

133 – Kalin Goodsite (Fifth Place)
First Round: (2) Devon Lotito (CP) def. Kalin Goodsite (ASU): Major 10-2
Consolation 1st Round: BYE
Consolation 2nd Round: (4) Joey Palmer (Oregon State) def. Kalin Goodsite (ASU): Fall 2:05
Fifth/Sixth Place: Kalin Goodsite (ASU) def. Ben DeMuelle (Boise State): Major 13-2

141 – Matt Kraus (Third Place)
First Round: BYE
Semifinals: (3) Joey Delgado (Oregon State) def. (2) Matt Kraus (ASU): Dec 5-1
Consolation 2nd Round: (2) Matt Kraus (ASU) def. Jacob Leon (CP): Major 11-2
Third/Fourth Place: (2) Matt Kraus (ASU) def. (4) Brian Owen (Boise State): D 5-4

149 – Preston McCalmon (Third Place)
First Round: (1) Scott Sakaguchi (Oregon State) def. Preston McCalmon (ASU): Dec 8-2
Consolation 1st Round: BYE
Consolation 2nd Round: Preston McCalmon (ASU) def. Kyle Chene (CP): Dec 6-4
Third/Fourth Place: Preston McCalmon (ASU) def. (4) Donovan Halpin (Stanford): SV Dec 3-1

157 – Joel Smith (Pac-12 Runner Up)
First Round: (2) Joel Smith (ASU) def. Xavier Johnson (CP): Major 14-5
Semifinals: (2) Joel Smith (ASU) def. Spencer Hills (CSUB): Dec 13-6
Finals: (1) RJ Pena (Oregon State) def. (2) Joel Smith (ASU): Major 8-0

165 – Nick Rex (Pac-12 Runner Up)
First Round: BYE
Semifinals: (2) Nick Rex (ASU) def. (3) David Meza (CSUB): Dec 3-2
Finals: (1) Jim Wilson (Stanford) def. (2) Nick Rex (ASU): Dec 5-1

174 – Ray Waters (Fifth Place)
First Round: (3) Joe Latham (Oregon State) def. Ray Waters (ASU): Major 14-5
Consolation 1st Round: BYE
Consolation 2nd Round: (4) Kyle Myer (Stanford) def. Ray Waters (ASU): Dec 8-3
Fifth/Six Place: Ray Waters (ASU) win via MD

184 – Blake Stauffer (Third Place)
First Round: BYE
Semifinals: (1) Blake Stauffer (ASU) def. (4) Zach Nevills (Stanford): MD
Finals: (2) Jake Swartz (Boise State) def. (1) Blake Stauffer (ASU): Dec 3-2
Second Place Match: Austin Morehead (Oregon State) def. (1) Blake Stauffer (ASU): Dec 5-2

197 – Josh DaSilveira (Fourth Place)
First Round: (1) Taylor Meeks (Oregon State) def. Josh DaSilveira (ASU): Major 16-2
Consolation 1st Round: BYE
Consolation 2nd Round: Josh DaSilveira (ASU) def. (3) Cody Dixon (Boise State): Dec 3-2
Third/Fourth Place: (4) Ruben Franklin (CSUB) def. Josh DaSilveira (ASU): Major 11-3

285 – Chace Eskam (Fifth Place)
First Round: (2) Amarveer Dhesi (Oregon State) def. Chace Eskam (ASU): Dec 6-3
Consolation 1st Round: BYE
Consolation 2nd Round: (4) Josh Marchok (Stanford) def. Chace Eskam (ASU): Dec 3-2
Fifth/Sixth Place: Chace Eskam (ASU) def. Sammy Cervantes (CSUB): Dec 4-1

Arizona State Sun Devils Wrestling
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals