Don't have an account? Click Here
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Football Places Three On Annual Award Watch Lists
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 07/07/2014
Print RSS
Related Links

TEMPE, Ariz. – Three Arizona State University football student-athletes have been named to watch lists for the annual Maxwell and Paul Hornung awards.

Junior running back D.J. Foster earned a spot on both award watch lists, while redshirt senior quarterback Taylor Kelly and redshirt junior wide receiver Jaelen Strong were both selected to the Maxwell Award Watch List.

The Sun Devils' three representatives on the 76-person Maxwell Award Watch List are tied for the second most among all schools and tied for the most in the Pac-12. This marks the second consecutive season ASU has placed three student-athletes on the preseason list and its six selections over the past two years trail only Alabama with eight.  

The Maxwell Award has been given to America's College Player of the Year since 1937 and the Paul Hornung Award, now in its fifth season, is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football.

Kelly, who was named to the 2013 Maxwell Award Watch List, enters the season with the second most career starts for a quarterback in the Pac-12 at 27 and is just the second Sun Devil in school history to have multiple seasons with 3,000-plus passing yards. He moved into the top five on seven single-season school record lists in 2013, including passing yards, completions, total offense and points responsible for, among others, and was a 2013 Second Team All-Pac-12 member.

Foster racked up more than 1,000 all-purpose yards for the second consecutive season and received 2013 Honorable Mention All-Pac-12 recognition. This is the second consecutive season Foster has earned a spot on the Hornung Award Watch List and his inclusion on the 2014 list marks the fourth time in as many years a Sun Devil has made the list as Jamal Miles earned a spot in both 2011 and 2012. Marion Grice was one of five finalists for the award in 2013.

Strong led the team with 75 receptions and 1,122 receiving yards, and finished the season with seven 100-plus yard games en route to earning 2013 Second Team All-Pac-12 honors.

2014 Sun Devil Award Watch Lists
Maxwell Award (America's College Player of the Year) – D.J. Foster, Taylor Kelly, Jaelen Strong
Hornung Award (nation's most versatile player) – Foster

ASU opens its campaign toward the Pac-12 Championship on Aug. 28 at Sun Devil Stadium against Weber State and the remaining home schedule includes UCLA on Sept. 25, a rematch with Stanford on Oct. 18 and a non-conference game with Notre Dame on Nov. 8.  

Season tickets are currently on sale at, by calling the Sun Devil Athletics Ticket Office at 480-965-5812, making an appointment with a Sun Devil Sales and Service staff member, or visiting the Sun Devil Ticket Office, located on the south end of Sun Devil Stadium. The ticket office is open from 9 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday through Friday. Click here for pricing and more information about Sun Devil Football season tickets.

In addition to guaranteeing the same seat for all 2014 home games, becoming a Sun Devil Football Season Ticket Holder is the only way to guarantee tickets to the Notre Dame game on Nov. 8, 2014, at Sun Devil Stadium.

About the Maxwell Award

The Maxwell Award, named in honor of Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell, has been given to America's College Player of the Year since 1937. Maxwell's contributions to the game of football were extensive, including as a player, a sportswriter and an official. The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's selection committee, which analyzes both past performance and future potential.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced Nov. 3, 2014, while the three finalists for the award will be unveiled Nov. 24, 2014. The winner of the 2014 Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 11, 2014. The formal presentations of this award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Revel Casino Hotel Atlantic City on March 6, 2015.

About the Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse

The Louisville Sports Commission successfully launched the Paul Hornung Award in 2010 to honor its namesake and native son and to promote outstanding performances by versatile college football players who often go unnoticed. Owen Marecic of Stanford, a two-way starter and All Pac-10 performer at fullback and linebacker, won the inaugural Paul Hornung Award in 2010; Brandon Boykin of Georgia won the award in 2011 after excelling on defense, offense and special teams; Tavon Austin of West Virginia won the award in 2012 as one of two players in the nation with more than 500 yards in three different categories (rushing, receiving and kick returns); and Odell Beckham Jr. of LSU won the award in 2013 after finishing the season ranked second in the nation and first in the Southeastern Conference with 2,222 all-purpose yards and 185.2 average yards per game.  

Texas Roadhouse signed on as presenting sponsor of the Paul Hornung Award in 2011 and will team with the Louisville Sports Commission to power fan voting again this season. College football fans nationwide will have the opportunity to vote for their favorite player during the regular season and again during the bowl season. Fan voting will open in late September and factor into selection of the finalists and winner.

The winner will be honored at the official Paul Hornung Award Banquet sponsored by KentuckyOne Health, held at the Galt House Hotel and Suites in downtown Louisville in late January-2015.

Arizona State Sun Devils Football
Inside Football
More Headlines
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals