Don't have an account? Click Here
ASU Baseball Announces Team Awards
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 05/23/2000
Print RSS
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Related Links

May 23, 2000

TEMPE, Ariz. - The Arizona State baseball squad has announced its 2000 team awards, which were presented to players at its annual banquet Tuesday night on the Packard Stadium field.

The Sun Devils, who are currently ranked #4 nationally and will host a four-team NCAA Regional beginning Friday, have selected senior left fielder Mitch Jones as their Offensive MVP. Jones, the Division I leader in home runs with 26, is one of two ASU players in the running for National Player of the Year honors.

The other is junior catcher Casey Myers, who was named Arizona State's Most Valuable Player by the On Deck Club, a Sun Devil organization. On Monday Myers captured Pac-10 Player of the Year honors after compiling a regular season in which he batted .414 with 16 home runs and 89 RBI.

Meanwhile sophomore lefthander John Switzer's 11-2 record and team-leading 116 strikeouts earned him Pitcher of the Year honors.

The complete list of team awards is as follows:

Outstanding Offensive Player
Mitch Jones

Outstanding Defensive Player
Mike Lopez

Pitcher of the Year
Jon Switzer

Mr. Fireman
Eric Doble

Newcomer of the Year (2)
Jonah Martin and Dennis Wyrick

Developmental MVP
Gonzo Grasis

Jim Henderson Courageous Performance Award
Jeff Phelps

Jim Brock Mr. Sun Devil Award (2)
Brooks Conrad and Tyler Johnson

Bobby Winkles Award
Casey Myers

On Deck Club MVP
Casey Myers

Arizona State Sun Devils Baseball
Inside Baseball
More Headlines
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals