Don't have an account? Click Here
Three Former Softball Student-Athletes Earn NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 07/02/2012
Print RSS
Related Links

July 2, 2012

Complete List of ASU Postgraduate Award Winners
TEMPE, Ariz. -
Three Arizona State softball student-athletes received NCAA Postgraduate Scholarships as announced on Monday afternoon. Hillary Bach, Katelyn Boyd and Annie Lockwood earned scholarships for one year of postgraduate study as funded by the NCAA.

The three seniors helped lead the softball program academically to a score of 997 out of 1,000 Academic Progress Rate (APR), which ranks in the top-10 percent nationally.

Since its inception, Arizona State has had 24 student-athletes receive NCAA postgraduate scholarships. See the list of Sun Devils to receive the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship, here

Hillary Bach finished her career second all-time in wins at ASU with 88 and ninth in career strikeouts with 390. Bach was named a 2012 First Team Academic All-American after receiving Pac-10 All-Academic honors three times during her career. She currently plays in the National Pro Fastpitch (NPF) for the Akron Racers.

Katelyn Boyd finished her career with her third-straight All-America honor. She ranks in the Top 5 in ASU career records in six categories and in single-season marks, she appears in the Top 25 in five areas. Boyd is also a two-time Academic All-American and was honored as All Pac-12 four times.

Annie Lockwood finished her career ranked 15th in batting average (.322), fourth in home runs (42) and fifth in RBI (175). She is a two-time First Team Pac-10 All-Academic honoree and was named an Academic All-American in 2012. Lockwood currently plays in the NPF for the Carolina Diamonds.

The NCAA awards up to 174 postgraduate scholarships annually, 87 for men and 87 for women. These scholarships are awarded to student-athletes who excel academically and athletically and who are in their final year of intercollegiate athletics and plan to pursue graduate studies.

To be eligible, the student-athlete must: be in their final season of NCAA athletics eligibility, have an overall undergraduate minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.2, have performed with distinction as a member of the varsity team, intend to continue academic work beyond the baccalaureate degree and be an outstanding citizen and role model for the institution and intercollegiate athletics as a whole.

Created in 1964, NCAA postgraduate scholarships promote and encourage education by rewarding the Association's most accomplished student-athletes with a one-time grant of $7,500.

Arizona State Sun Devils Softball
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals