Don't have an account? Click Here
Pac-10 Baseball Coaches Pick Sun Devils To Win Conference Crown
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 01/29/2007
Print RSS
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Related Links

Jan. 29, 2007

TEMPE, Ariz. -

Head coach Pat Murphy and the Arizona State University baseball team has been tabbed as the preseason favorite to win the Pac-10 baseball title, as voted on by the nine conference head coaches. The Sun Devils are coming off their seventh straight NCAA Tournament appearance and 30th in school history. Last season they finished second in the Pac-10 with a 14-10 record.


The Sun Devils received four of nine first-place votes, earning 57 points overall. Oregon State received three first place votes and 55 points overall for the No. 2 spot, while Stanford was picked third with two first place votes, bringing its total to 51 points.


Arizona State, ranked 14th in Collegiate Baseball's preseason Top-25 and 20th in Baseball America's preseason Top-40 was joined in the postseason last year by Oregon State, Stanford and UCLA, making 2006 the 10th consecutive season the Conference has qualified at least four of its nine teams for the NCAA Tournament.


The Pacific-10 Conference has produced a College World Series participant each year since 1996 and has made the CWS 25 times overall since the league became known as the Pac-10 in 1979.


The Sun Devils open 2007 on Friday night at 7 p.m. when they host Southern Utah at Winkles Field-Packard Stadium at Brock Ballpark.


Results of the poll are as follows. Eight points are awarded for a first-place vote, seven points for a second-place vote, and so on. Coaches are not allowed to vote for their own team.


School (First Place Votes)     Points

1. Arizona State (4)                57

2. Oregon State (3)                  55

3. Stanford (2)                         51

4. UCLA                                  44

5. Arizona                                42

6. USC                                    27

7. California                              17

8. Washington State                  16

9. Washington                           15


Arizona State Sun Devils Baseball
Inside Baseball
More Headlines
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals