Don't have an account? Click Here
Mitch Jones Named Semifinalist for Rotary Smith Award
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 05/15/2000
Print RSS
Related Links

May 15, 2000

Arizona State outfielder Mitch Jones (Orem, Utah) was named one of 12 semifinalist for the 2000 Rotary Smith Award.

Jones, who leads the nation with 25 homeruns this year, has also tied Bob Horner's 1978 school record for homeruns in a single season.

Now in its 13th year, the Rotary Smith Award is awarded each summer to the nation's top college baseball player. The Award, a national project of the Rotary Club of Houston, raises money for Rotary national charities, Texas Children's Hospital and the Karl Young League. Six previous winners of the award are currently playing major league baseball: 1988 winner Andy Benes of Evansville (St. Louis Cardinals), 1991 winner Bobby Jones of Fresno State (New York Mets), 1993 winner Darren Dreifort of Wichita State (Los Angeles Dodgers), 1994 winner Jason Varitek of Georgia Tech (Boston Red Sox), 1995 winner Mark Kotsay of Cal.-State Fullerton (Florida Marlins), 1996 winner Kris Benson of Clemson (Pittsburgh) and 1997 winner Tim Hudson of Auburn (Oakland Athletics).

SID's will now cut the list from the 12 semifinalists to 3 finalists in the next stage of balloting within the next month. The final voting stage, to pick the 2000 winner, will end following the conclusion of this year's College World Series (June 9-17). The winner will be named at a dinner at the Doubletree-Post Oak Hotel in Houston the evening of Monday, June 19.

For more information on this year's award, call Twin Spin Design at (713) 659-5251 or check out the award's website at For ticketing information, please call the Rotary Club of Houston at (713) 973-9936.

Kip Boutknight	South Carolina	RHP	Jr.	Gaston, SC
Taggart Bozied	San Francisco	1B	Jr.	Denver, CO
Brad Cresse	LSU		C	Sr.	Seal Beach, CA
Kyle Crowell	Houston		RHP	Jr.	Friendswood, TX
Ben Diggins	Arizona		P/1B	Jr.	Prescott Valley, AZ
Todd Faulkner	Auburn		1B	Jr.	Powder Springs, GA
Tyrell Godwin	North Carolina	OF	Jr.	Council, NC
Gabe Gross 	Auburn		OF	So.	Dothan, AL
Mitch Jones	Arizona State	OF	Sr.	Orem, UT
Xavier Nady	California	3B	Jr.	Salinas, CA
Mark Teixeira	Georgia Tech	3B	So.	Severna Park , MD
Justin Wayne	Stanford	RHP	Jr.	 Honolulu, HI
Arizona State Sun Devils Baseball
Inside Baseball
More Headlines
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals