Don't have an account? Click Here
Teddy Bear Toss
Diving Continues National Dominance with NCAA Qualifiers
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 03/12/2012
Send Mail Print RSS
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Related Links

March 12, 2012

Last weekend at Zone E Championships, seniors Elina Eggers, Constantin Blaha and Cameron Bradshaw qualified to compete at the 2012 NCAA swimming and diving Championships. The Sun Devil divers contiuned Arizona State's reign as a perenial fixture at the NCAA Championships and on the national level. 

Eggers is making her third-consecutive NCAA Championship appearance this season after taking first place on platform at the Zone E Championships on Mar. 10. Last season, Eggers took second in the nation on platform at the NCAA Championships with a score of 345.60, less than 10 points behind NCAA Champion Brittany Viola of Miami. With her second-place finish, Eggers earned her second-consecutive All-American honors. Eggers is looking to become the first Arizona State women’s diver to win an NCAA Championship.

Blaha is also making his third-consecutive NCAA Championship appearance. The senior solidified his spot at the national championships with his third-place finish on the men’s 3-meter springboard on Mar. 8. Blaha, a two-time Pac-12 Champion on the 3-meter, finished third nationally last season in the same event with a score of 450.40. Finishing third on the men’s 1-meter, Bradshaw earned a second-consecutive spot to compete at the NCAA Champions on Mar. 9.  In 2011, Bradshaw finished 14th in the nation on the men’s 1-meter springboard.

Eggers, Blaha and McCormick carry on the storied tradition of Arizona State’s diving program. Since 1966, the program boasts three divers have won a total of six NCAA Championships and 39 All-Americans.


Under Head Coach Mark Bradshaw

Under current ASU diving head coach Mark Bradshaw, a two-time NCAA Diving Coach of the Year and nine-time Pac-12 Coach of the year, the program has had 11 divers earn a total of four NCAA individual titles and 37 All-American honors.


Notable All-Americans Under Bradshaw


Two-time All-American

Elina Eggers: 2011 Platform; 2010 Platform

Three-time All-American

Katrina Pfeuffer: 1997 Platform; 2000 1-meter, Platform

Riley McCormick: 2011 1-meter, 3-meter; 2010 Platform

Four-time All-American

Trisha Tumlinson: 2005 Platform; 2004 Platform; 2003 1-meter, Platform

Constantin Blaha: 2011 1-meter, 3-meter; 2010 Platform, 3-meter

Eight-tme All-American

Micky Benedetti: 2009 3-meter, Platform; 2008 1-meter, 3-meter, Platform; 2007 1-meter, 3-meter, Platform

Nine-time All-American

Joona Puhakka: 2006 1-meter, 3-meter; 2005 1-meter, 3-meter; 2004 1-meter, 3-meter, 2003 1-meter, 3-meter, Platform


Arizona State Sun Devils
Sun Devil Mail
Embrace Success
Embrace Success
New Season Tickets
Embrace Success
Embrace Success
Embrace Success
Gymnastics Season Tickets
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
New Season Tickets
New Season Tickets
New Season Tickets
Baseball Flex Plans