Don't have an account? Click Here
Carrick Felix Selected For State Farm College Slam Dunk and 3-Point Championships
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 04/01/2013
Print RSS
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Related Links

April 1, 2013

Arizona State's Carrick Felix will participate in the State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships at 7 p.m. ET April 4 at McCamish Pavilion on the campus of the Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta, Intersport announced. The 25th annual event, which will showcase the dunking and sharp-shooting talents of 24 of the nation's top college basketball players, will be broadcast live on ESPN. The broadcast team includes Brad Nessler, Dan Dakich, Jimmy Dykes and Samantha Ponder.

Felix will be competing in the Denny's Slam Dunk Championship. A 6-foot-6-inch senior team captain, Felix is a three-time Pac-12 Player of the Week selection and led the conference in double-double performances with 13. Felix averaged 14.6 points per game, 8.1 rebounds per game and 1.1 blocks per game. Felix earned a spot on the 2013 Pac-12 All-Defensive Team, was a second team all-conference pick, was named to the conference's all-academic team and was the 2013 Pac-12 Scholar Athlete of the Year.

Felix brought to ASU an excitement for the fans, repeatedly being the cause behind eruptions in Wells Fargo Arena with his igniting and powerful dunks. He often found himself in the open court, where he used his athleticism to beat the defense, many times resulting in stellar jams. Thanks to the constant penetration by teammate Jahii Carson, Felix also found himself open on the perimeter thanks to a collapsing defense, where he would make them pay. 

One player already named to the Denny's Slam Dunk Championship roster is High Point's senior forward Corey Law, who won the State Farm Dark Horse Dunker competition. The State Farm Dark Horse Dunker Facebook bracket was a five-week knockout competition that began with 16 under-the-radar dunkers who had what it takes to compete against the D-I field in Atlanta. Fans determined the winner by voting during each round at the official Facebook page (

Arizona State Sun Devils Men's Basketball
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals