Don't have an account? Click Here
No. 24 Women's Swimming & Dive Tops BYU, Men Narrowly Defeated
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 01/06/2012
Print RSS
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Related Links

Jan. 6, 2012


PROVO, Utah - In a close meet that came down to the last race, the 24th-ranked Arizona State women's swimming team defeated BYU 122-117, while the men's swimming and diving team fell just short, dropping the meet 111-132 to the Cougars.

Sophomore Tristin Baxter took the first victory for the Sun Devils, swimming to a first-place finish in the 1000 free with a time of 10:09.17. With a mere one event's rest, Baxter turned around to win the women's 200 free. The sophomore touched in with a time of 1:52.26.

Junior Caroline Kuczynski also came out with a pair of victories for Arizona State, swimming the top time of 2:05.95 in the 200 IM.  Kuczynski also finished first in the 200 fly with a time of 2:03.69.

In the women's 100 free, junior Shannon Landgrebe touched in with a time of 52.20 to earn the fifth victory on the day for the Sun Devil women. Junior Cassie Morrice, who set the new ASU record in the 1000 free earlier in the season, continued her success in the distance free events with her first-place finish in the 500 free. Morrice swam the event in a time of 4:56.88, over seven seconds faster than the next closest competitor.

Senior Rebecca Ejdervik and junior Jordyn Green finished one and two in the 200 breast, with Ejdervik narrowly out-touching Green with a time of 2:20.00. Green swam the event in a time of 2:20.53.

Sydney Czaus led the Sun Devils in diving on the women's 3-meter springboard. The freshman took second place in the event with a score of 267.75.

The men's team opened up the meet with a victory in the 200 medley relay. The ASU relay of David Adalsteinsson, Deniz Hekmati, Herbie Behm and Jesper Akesson took the top spot with a time of 1:32.78.

Sophomores Hayden Thomas, Behm, and Adalsteinsson continued the victories for the Sun Devils. Thomas finished first in the 1000 free with a time of 9:43.11, while Behm notched a victory in the 50 free with a time of 20.91. Adalsteinsson won the 200 back with a time of 1:52.32.

In diving, senior Constantin Blaha once again dominated the men's 3-meter springboard. The two-time Pac-12 champion won the event with a score of 407.78. Freshman Kevin Olson finished in fifth place with a score of 331.73.

The Sun Devils continue competition tomorrow facing Pac-12 foe Utah in Salt Lake City at 3 p.m. MT.

Arizona State Sun Devils
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals