Don't have an account? Click Here

Willie Bloomquist was
named MVP for
baseball team.


Willie Bloomquist Wins Top Award at Baseball Banquet

Sun Devil takes home MVP and Outstanding Offensive Player honors.

May 18, 1998

TEMPE, Ariz. -- Sophomore infielder/outfielder Willie Bloomquist was named the On Deck Circle Most Valuable Player last night at the Sun Devil Baseball Awards Banquet held at The Buttes Resort in Phoenix.

Bloomquist was also named the team's Outstanding Offensive Player as well. This season, he led the team in batting average (.416), hits (92), runs scored (73), stolen bases (29), triples (9) and walks (53).

Junior catcher Jeremy Jones was honored as the squad's Outstanding Defensive Player. Behind the dish, Jones committed just three errors in 381 chances. He allowed only 14 stolen bases all season.

Junior lefty Phill Lowery was named Pitcher of the Year. Lowery, a first-team All-Pac-10 selection, led the team in wins with eight and was second in strikeouts with 87 on the year.

Newcomer of the Year was freshman Casey Myers who hit .389 with seven homeruns during the regular season and did not commit an error all season in the field.

Senior righthanded pitcher Aaron Kramer was named Mr. Fireman, given to the pitcher who shows poise under fire on the mound in difficult relief situations. Kramer is 6-2 on the season with a 3.79 ERA and one save.

The Jim Henderson Courage Award went to junior infielder Chip Gosewisch who underwent shoulder surgery this April and is out for the remainder of the season.

The Jim Brock-Mr. Sun Devil Award went to freshman infielder Jeff Phelps while the Bobby Winkles Award went to senior outfielder Mikel Moreno.

Sophomore Ty Johnson was honored as the Developmental MVP.

Arizona State finished the regular season with a 34-21 overall record, 18-11 in conference action. The Devils will find out today at noon where they are heading for NCAA Regional action.


Arizona State Sun Devils Baseball
FB Renewals