Don't have an account? Click Here


Men's Golf


Men's Golf Almanac

George Boutell
Golf / 1965-1967
/ Inducted 1981
Boutell was the first ASU player to make first-team All-America in golf, 1966. He was the Amateur Golfer of the Year in 1965 as selected by all four national golfing publications. He was also the Arizona Amateur Champion, 1962, and the Eastern Amateur Trans-Mississippi and Tucker Collegiate Invitational Champion, 1965. He became the ASU Golf Coach in 1975.

Jim Carter
/ Inducted 1995
A 1995 ASU Hall of Fame inductee, Jim Carter became ASU's first NCAA men's golf champion in 1983. During that year he also captured medalist honors at the Southwest Amateur and was a first-team All-Pac-10 and first-team All-American selection. In 1984, he earned All-Pac-10 and All-American honors and also was medalist at the Arizona Intercollegiate and the Sun Devil-Phoenix Thunderbird Invitational.

Paul Casey
Golf /1997-2000/ Inducted 2010
Casey was a three-time Pac-10 men's golf champion and three-time All-American during his time at Arizona State. He shot a 67 in the final round in the 2000 Pac-10 Men's Golf Championship to break Tiger Woods conference par-72 mark and win his third straight Pac-10 title. Casey also led ASU to its sixth-straight league title in 2000, as the Sun Devils shot 56-under 1,384 (339-351-342-352) to also set Pac-10 records for low score and best score under par. He finished at 23-under 265 (66-65-67-67) and broke Woods' 18-under 270 set in the 1996 Championships at Big Canyon Country Club in Newport Beach, Calif. (61-65-73-71). Paul shot a 15-under 265 at the Broadmoor Golf Club in Seattle on the par-70 course in 1999, including a NCAA record 60 in the final round. Casey ended his career with six championships, tied for third on the ASU wins list as he passed 1993 NCAA Champion Todd Demsey, who had five. The Gloucestershire England native currently has 11 wins since joining the PGA tour in 2000.

Todd Demsey
Golf /1992-1995/ Inducted 2006
2006 Inductee.

Dan Forsman
/ Inducted 1992
Dan Forsman followed a season in which he was a first-team All-Pac-10 and third-team All-American selection in 1980 by becoming the Pac-10 Co-Player of the year in 1981. He was named to the first-team Pac-10 Conference and second-team All-American squads and earned conference medalist honors in his final season. He was inducted into ASU's Hall of Fame in 1992.

Bob Gilder
Golf / 1972-1974
/ Inducted 1979
The Western Athletic Conference golf champion in 1973, he was selected three times to the All-WAC teams and once to the All-America squad. He became a PGA professional in 1975 and went on to become only the fourth player in PGA history to earn more than $100,000 in his first season. His first tournament victory was in Arizona as he captured the 1976 Phoenix Open crown. Gilder was a runner-up for the PGA Rookie of the Year title in 1976. He has finished among the top 60 PGA money winners since turning professional, finishing 36th among 283 PGA golfers in 1978. He entered 31 tournaments in 1978, placed among the top ten in eight of them, earned money in 23, and had a 71.9 stroke average per round.

Chris Hanell
Golf / 1993-1997
/ Inducted 2013 
Hanell was a three-time All-American, including a first team honoree in 1996-97, and helped lead the Sun Devils to the 1996 NCAA Championship. He was a part of three Pac-10 Championship teams and two NCAA Regional Championships. A First-Team Pac-10 All-Academic selection in 1995-96 and 1996-97, Hanell also received the Golfstat Cup in 1997 recognizing the college player with the lowest stroke average. He finished in the top 10 nationally as an individual in each of his four years and finished his collegiate career at ASU in 1997 by receiving the Golfweek and Golfstat Collegiate Player of the Year Awards. Throughout his career, he played in 58 tournaments and had a 71.44 stroke average with 24 rounds in the 60s. His 179 career rounds played represents the second most in the past 20 seasons of Sun Devil golf. Hanell graduated with a bachelor’s degree in marketing in 1997. 

Billy Mayfair
Golf / 1985-1988
/ Inducted 1998
Mayfair was a four-time All Pac-10 First-Team Conference selection (1985-1988). He is the first golfer ever to win both U.S. Public Links (1986) and U.S. Amateur (1987). He is an ASU four-time All-American (1985-1988), earning First-Team accolades twice, Pac-10, NCAA and Golf Coaches Association of America's Player of the Year in 1987. He was the winner of the Haskins Award that same year. He placed in the top 10 in 12 tournaments, and secured the Amateur Title in the Pac-Northwest and Pac-Coast Tournaments in 1987-88.

Phil Mickelson
Golf / 1988-1992
/ Inducted 2002
Mickelson is regarded as the best amateur golfer of all-time and won 16 collegiate tournaments including NCAA titles in 1989, 1990 and 1992 and was a four-time All-American. He led ASU to its first NCAA crown in men's golf in 1990 and earned a degree in psychology in 1992. He also won the U.S. Amateur in 1990.

Mike Morley
Golf / 1964-1968
/ Inducted 1983
A first-team All-America in 1968, he set an NCAA Championship nine-hole record of 30 (6 under par) at Las Cruces, NM. In 1967, he won the Sun Devil Classic and reached the quarter-finals of the United States Amateur Championship - automatically winning a spot in the 1968 Masters. A two-time All-Western Athletic Conference selection, he joined the PGA Tour after completing his collegiate career.

Tom Purtzer
/ Inducted 1989
Tom Purtzer, who earned his PGA membership in 1975, won the 1971 and 1973 Arizona Collegiate. A member of Arizona State's golf teams from 1970-73, he was inducted into the ASU Hall of Fame in 1989 and was a second-team All-American in 1973.

Jeff Quinney
Golf / 1997-2001 / Inducted 2012
The 2000 U.S. Amateur Champion, Quinney played in the 2000 Masters, 2001 U.S. Open and 2001 British Open as an amateur at ASU. He was a second-team All-American in 1999 and 2001, and earned honorable mention All-America honors in his freshman season (1998) after tying for 11th at the 1998 NCAA Championships in Albuquerque. He earned first team All-Pac-10 recognition three times (1999-2001) and played on three Pac-10 championship teams (1998, 1999 and 2000). Quinney set an ASU Karsten Golf Course record with a 62 on April 18, 1999, in the final round of the ASU Thunderbird/SAVANE Invitational as he took home medalist honors. He became the first Sun Devil to win the Pacific Northwest Golf Association Amateur sinceTodd Kernaghan when he won the 1998 title and then he won it again in the summer of 2000. He also won the 2001 UNLV Rebel Classic and was a medalist at the 1999 NCAA West Regional in Tucson.

Howard Twitty
Golf / 1970-1972
/ Inducted 1978
Twitty was an All-American first team in 1970 and 1972, and second team in 1971. He was a runner-up in the 1972 NCAA Championship Tournament. He was rated the number three amateur in the country in 1970. He was All-Western Athletic Conference for three years. Twitty was the Porter Cup Champion in 1970, and finished second in the Tucson Open in 1976 as well. He was the winner of the Thailand Open in 1975. He is currently a member of the PGA tour.

Arizona State Sun Devils Athletics
FB Renewals