Don't have an account? Click Here


As of June 12, 2006, 35 states and two territories have adopted the Act, including the State of Arizona. It is an important tool in regulating the activities of agents and protecting NCAA student-athletes and member institutions.

For Student-Athletes

  • You may talk to an agent if he or she is registered as an agent with the Arizona Secretary of State.
  • You can even sign a contract with an agent but, by doing so, you may lose your college eligibility.
  • If you sign a contract with an agent, you have the right to cancel the contract within 14 days. However, even if you cancel the contract, you may still jeopardize your eligibility.
  • If you sign a contract, you must notify the Athletic Director within 72 hours, or before your next competition (whichever comes first).
For Agents
  • You may not initiate contact (including by mail) with a student-athlete unless you are registered as an athlete agent with the state's Secretary of State.
  • If you are not registered and a student-athlete contacts you, you may speak with the student-athlete only if you submit an application to register as an athlete agent within seven days.
  • You may not furnish anything of value to anyone with the intent of inducing a student-athlete to sign an agency contract.
  • You may not give false or misleading information or make a false promise to induce a student-athlete to sign a contract.
  • You must notify a student-athlete of the risk to his or her eligibility before entering a contract.
  • If you sign a contract with a student-athlete, you must notify the Athletic Director at his or her school within 72 hours, or before his or her next competition (whichever comes first).

  • A person who commits any statutorily prohibited conduct is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor punishable by up to six months imprisonment.


  • An educational institution or a student athlete may recover damages from an agent caused by a violation of the act.
  • An educational institution may also recover damages caused when a violation of the act causes the institution to be penalized or suspended from participation in athletics by a national association or athletic conference or by a reasonable self-imposed disciplinary action.


  • The secretary of state may assess a civil penalty against an athlete agent of up to $25,000 per violation.

    For information on how to register as an athlete agent in Arizona, go to:

  • Arizona State Sun Devils Athletics
    FB Renewals