Don't have an account? Click Here
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
@ASUMENSGOLF Competing In Las Vegas This Weekend
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 03/06/2014
Print RSS
Related Links
The Arizona State men's golf team will compete in the Southern Highlands Collegiate Masters March 7-9 at the Southern Highlands Golf Club (par 72/7,510 yards) in Las Vegas, Nevada. The 15 teams will play 18 holes each day starting at 8 a.m.

California won the team title in 2013 with an 8-under 856 (285-280-291) while Patrick Rodgers of Stanford took home the individual honors with a 4-under 212 (66-73-73) when he roke four-way tie with birdie on first playoff hole. The Sun Devil lineup will include Max Rottluff, Jon Rahm, Austin Quick,  Trey Ka'ahanui and Broc Johnson.

This prestigious event annually lures the country's best college golf teams and each year ranks at or near the top of the collegiate golf schedule in terms of strength of field. The 2014 edition of the SHCM has seven of the top-10 teams in the country as part of the 15-team field. In addition there are 11 of the nation's top 20 and all 15 teams are ranked in the top 50, according to Golfweek. Additionally, 20 of the top-30 ranked individuals in the country are scheduled to play.

"This will be the best field we face before the NCAA Championship," says third-year Sun Devil head coach Tim Mickelson. "Playing well might mean finishing in the middle of the scoreboard but we have a chance to better prepare our players for the postseason. We look at this as a great way to prepare for our ASU Thunderbird Invitaional (March 21-23).

This year’s 15-team tournament field includes Alabama (1), Arizona State (29), California (4), Georgia (5), Georgia Tech (2), New Mexico (18), Oklahoma (14), Oklahoma State (3), Stanford (9), TCU (42), Texas (16), Texas A&M (7), Texas Tech (49), UCLA (19) and UNLV (33). The 54-hole tournament will be played over three days, with tee times beginning at 8 a.m. each morning off the No. 1 and No. 10 holes.

ASU won the event in 2004, 2000 and in 1992. Jesper Kennegard won the event in 2010, Jeff Quinney won it in 2001

Jesper Kennegard, 2010 Southern Highland Intercollegiate
Jeff Quinney, 2001 UNLV Rebel Classic
Phil Mickelson/Brett Dean, 1991 UNLV Rebel Classic
Brett Dean, 1990 UNLV Rebel Classic
Phil Mickelson, 1990 U.S. Japan Intercollegiate
Phil Mickelson, 1989 UNLV Rebel Classic
Billy Mayfair, 1987 UNLV Golf Classic
Arizona State Sun Devils Men's Golf
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals