Don't have an account? Click Here
MBB Renewals
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Jordan Earns Pac-12 Defensive POY; Jahii First-Team
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 03/10/2014
Print RSS
Related Links

In a vote of the 12 Conference coaches Sun Devil Jordan Bachynski has been named the Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year.

Bachynski is the first Sun Devil to be voted Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year and is one one of six ASU student-athletes to receive an end-of-year award. The senior finished the regular season as the Pac-12 career leader in blocked shots with 309 over his four seasons. He also had three game-saving blocked shots at the buzzer that preserved ASU victories. Bachynski leads the nation in blocks, averaging 4.23 per game, and is sixth in the Conference in rebounding, averaging 8.4 per game. With 309 career blocks he is now the Pac-12 record holder, topping Anthony Cook of Arizona (278 from 1985-89) and his 128 blocks broke his Pac-12-season record from last year of 120.

Carson is second in the league in scoring (18.9 points per game) and sixth in assists (4.5 per game). He now has 1,232 career points in just two seasons and 30 20-point games in his career.

Jermaine Marshall earned honorable mention honors.

THE VOTE: Coach of the Year, All-Conference, All-Freshman, All-Defensive teams and Most Improved Player are voted on by the coaches. Coaches are not permitted to vote for themselves or their own players for the honors.

Jahii Carson (2013 and 2014 First-Team)
Jordan Bachynski (2014 Second-Team)
Carrick Felix (2013 Second-Team)
Trent Lockett (2011 Second-Team)
Ty Abbott (2010 First-Team)
James Harden (2008 and 2009 First-Team)
Jeff Pendergraph (2008 Third-Team and 2009 First-Team)
Ike Diogu (2003, 2004 and 2005)
Chad Prewitt (2002)
Eddie House (1999 and 2000)
Mike Batiste (1999)
Bobby Lazor (1999)
Jeremy Veal (1997 and 1998)
Mario Bennett (1994 and 1995)
Stevin Smith (1993 and 1994)
Isaac Austin (1991)
Trent Edwards (1989)
Steve Beck (1987)
Chris Beasley (1984)
Byron Scott (1983)
Paul Williams (1983)
Fat Lever (1981 and 1982)
Alton Lister (1981)
Sam Williams (1981)
Kurt Nimphius (1980)


Arizona State Sun Devils Men's Basketball
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals