Don't have an account? Click Here
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Nine Sun Devils Named To Athlon Sports Preseason All-Pac-12 Teams
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 06/18/2014
Print RSS
Related Links

TEMPE, Ariz. – Nine Arizona State University football student-athletes have earned preseason All-Pac-12 recognition from Athlon Sports.

ASU leads all Pac-12 South teams with 13 conference victories over the past two seasons under 2013 Pac-12 Conference Coach of the Year Todd Graham.

The Sun Devils’ offense eclipsed 50 points six times in games in 2013, breaking the school record held by the 1973 team, and the defense has forced 63 turnovers under coach Graham in the past two seasons, which ranks as the second most in the nation among FBS schools. ASU also finished eighth in the nation in 2013 in fewest penalties and seventh in fewest penalty yards per game.

Sun Devils on Athlon Sports All-Pac-12 Teams
Wide receiver Jaelen Strong, RS-Jr., 1st team
Running back D.J. Foster, Jr., 2nd team
Offensive lineman Jamil Douglas, RS-Sr., 2nd team
Kicker Zane Gonzalez, Soph., 2nd team
Quarterback Taylor Kelly, RS-Sr., 3rd team
Offensive lineman Vi Teofilo, RS-Jr., 3rd team
Safety Damarious Randall, RS-Sr., 3rd team
Offensive lineman Christian Westerman, RS-Jr., 4th team
Linebacker Salamo Fiso, RS-Soph., 4th team

Wide receiver Jaelen Strong was the only Sun Devil selected to the first team. A 2013 Second Team All-Pac-12 honoree, he led the team with 75 receptions and 1,122 receiving yards and finished the season with seven 100-plus yard games.

Three Sun Devils were named to the third team, including quarterback Taylor Kelly, offensive lineman Vi Teofilo and safety Damarious Randall. Kelly enters the season with the second most career starts for a quarterback in the Pac-12 at 27 and is just the second Sun Devil in school history to have multiple seasons with 3,000-plus passing yards. He moved into the top five on seven single-season school record lists in 2013, including passing yards, completions, total offense and points responsible for, among others. Randall is expected to lead a secondary that has notched 42 interceptions in the past two seasons, which ranks as the second most in the nation among FBS schools, and Teofilo has started 17 consecutive games for the Devils.

Offensive lineman Jamil Douglas, running back DJ Foster and kicker Zane Gonzalez were selected to the second team. Douglas was named to the All-Pac-12 Second Team in 2013 and has made 27 consecutive starts for the Sun Devils. Foster racked up more than 1,000 all-purpose yards for the second consecutive season and received 2013 Honorable Mention All-Pac-12 recognition. Gonzalez, who was named a semifinalist for the Lou Groza Award and earned Freshmen All-America honors, tied an NCAA freshman record in 2013 and led the nation with 25 field goals.

Linebacker Salamo Fiso and offensive lineman Christian Westerman were selected to the fourth team. Fiso was named a 2013 Freshmen All-American after he finished the season with 71 tackles, including a career-high nine in the Holiday Bowl, and Westerman, who sat out the 2013 season after transferring from Auburn, was the top recruit in Arizona out of high school.

ASU opens its campaign toward the Pac-12 Championship on Aug. 28 at Sun Devil Stadium against Weber State and the remaining home schedule includes UCLA on Sept. 25, a rematch with Stanford on Oct. 18 and a non-conference game with Notre Dame on Nov. 8.  

Season tickets are currently on sale at, by calling the Sun Devil Athletics Ticket Office at 480-965-5812, making an appointment with a Sun Devil Sales and Service staff member, or visiting the Sun Devil Ticket Office, located on the south end of Sun Devil Stadium. The ticket office is open from 9 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday through Friday. Click here for pricing and more information about Sun Devil Football season tickets.

In addition to guaranteeing the same seat for all 2014 home games, becoming a Sun Devil Football Season Ticket Holder is the only way to guarantee tickets to the Notre Dame game on Nov. 8, 2014, at Sun Devil Stadium.

Arizona State Sun Devils Football
Inside Football
More Headlines
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals