Don't have an account? Click Here
MBB Renewals
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Coach Sendek Talks Academics "Outside The Lines"
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 06/20/2014
Print RSS
Related Links
Coach Herb Sendek has been a college head coach for 21 years, earning conference Coach of the Year honors in the MAC (1994-95), ACC (2003-04) and the Pac-10 (2009-10). He has been very good with 495 wins despite being just 51 years old. He has watched 10 former assistants become head coaches. Much has changed in the past 21 years with regards to NCAA basketball, and academics is a big topic now.

He joined the likes of Tom Izzo and Jamie Dixon when asked by Andy Katz for an academic roundtable on “Outside the Lines” that will be aired Sunday at 6 a.m. PT on ESPN and then run a few times during the day on the various ESPN platforms.

In addition to five 20-win seasons, nine wins over ranked team, a 32-5 record at home in the past two seasons that included the best home win in school history, Coach Sendek has led the program off the court as the program’s Graduation Success Rate (GSR) is projected to be at 78 percent in October for the 2004-08 span, the highest mark in program history. It is part of the 82 percent mark for all of Sun Devil Athletics, also a top mark achieved. The men’s basketball Academic Progress Rate (APR) is at .989, which second in the conference and also an all-time high for the program.

Six Sun Devils from this year’s team earned degrees in the spring, while Shaquielle McKissic and Sai Tummala earned a Student-Athlete of the Month award. Tummala and 2014 graduate Dave Whitmore are both part of the Barrett The Honors College.
Ty Abbott (B.S., Sociology, 2011)
Robby Alridge (B.A., Sociology, 2006)
Antwi Atuahene (BIS, Interdisciplinary Studies in Communications/Mass Communications, 2008)
Jordan Bachynski (B.A. Business Communication, 2014)
Bo Barnes (B.A., Business Communication, 2014)
Eric Boateng (B.A., Global Studies, 2009)
Bruno Claudino (BIS, Interdisciplinary Studies in Education/Sociology, 2007)
Chris Colvin (B.S., Sociology, 2013)
Brandon Dunson (BIS, Interdisciplinary Studies in Business/Communications, 2012)
Richie Edwards (BIS, Interdisciplinary Studies in History/Communications, 2013; ; Masters of Liberal Studies, 2014)
Carrick Felix (B.S., Communication, 2012; Masters of Liberal Studies, 2013)
Derek Glasser (B.S. Communication, 2010)
Evan Gordon (BIS, Interdisciplinary Studies in Business/Communications, 2008)
Rihards Kuksiks (BIS, Interdisciplinary Studies in Communications/Sociology, 2011)
Jermaine Marshall (Masters of Liberal Studies, 2014)
Jamelle McMillan (B.S. Communication, 2011)
Ruslan Pateev (B.S. Family and Human Development, 2013)
Jeff Pendergraph (B.S. Economics, 2008) (African and American Studies minor, 2008)
Jerren Shipp (BIS, Interdisciplinary Studies in Sociology and Wellness Foundations, 2010)
Jarett Upchurch (B.A., Business Communication, 2014)
Dave Whitmore (B.S. Management, 2014)
Arizona State Sun Devils Men's Basketball
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals