Don't have an account? Click Here
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Four Sun Devils Earn NFF Valley of the Sun Chapter Honors
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 02/18/2016
Print RSS
Related Links

TEMPE, Ariz. – Four Arizona State University football student-athletes will be honored at the 35th Annual Scholar Athlete Awards Banquet hosted by the Valley of the Sun Chapter of the National Football Foundation on April 2.

Quarterback Mike Bercovici is the 2015-16 National Football Foundation (NFF) Valley of the Sun Chapter College Scholar Athlete of the Year, along with Northern Arizona running back Casey Jahn.

In addition to Bercovici, cornerback Kweishi Brown, center Nick Kelly, and linebacker Luke Williams each earned NFF College Coach’s Honorable Mention Scholar Athlete recognition.

This marks the second consecutive year four Sun Devils have been honored by the NFF Valley of the Sun Chapter.  

Bercovici joins a distinguished list of Sun Devils to earn NFF Valley of the Sun College Scholar Athlete honors, including Damien Richardson
in 1997, Skyler Fulton
in 2004, Troy Nolan in 2009 and Mike Nixon in 2010. The 2015 Pac-12 Football Scholar-Athlete of the Year and semifinalist for the William V. Campbell Trophy, college football’s academic Heisman, Bercovici graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree in Business Management in May 2014 and earned his Master’s of Sports Law and Business in December 2015. A three-time Pac-12 All-Academic honoree and 11-time Scholar Baller®, which honors student-athletes who achieve over a 3.0 GPA in a given semester, he was Senior CLASS Award Second Team member and won the Lee Roy Selmon Community Spirit Award this past year. He tied the school’s single-season record with 30 touchdown passes in 2015 and finished in the top three in school record books in seven other major single-season offensive categories.

Brown, a two-year letterwinner from 2014-15, was a Second Team Pac-12 All-Academic honoree in 2015 and a three-time Scholar Baller®, which honors student-athletes who achieve over a 3.0 GPA in a given semester. He is on track to graduate with a Bachelor of Science degree in sociology in May 206 and finished his athletics career with 87 tackles, including 73 solo and three tackles for loss, and added 21 pass deflections, one forced fumble, and five interceptions, including one that sealed the Devils’ win against Duke in the 2014 Sun Bowl.

Kelly, a two-time Pac-12 All-Academic honoree, including a second-team member in 2015, is set to graduate with a degree in criminal justice and criminology in May 2016. Part of the foundation of an offensive line that paved the way for back-to-back 1,000-yard rushers, he started 26 consecutive games at center from 2014-15 and earned All-Pac-12 Second Team recognition in 2014. He is a six-time Scholar Baller®, which honors student-athletes who achieve over a 3.0 GPA in a given semester.

Williams, who was a student-athlete from 2013-15, graduated in May 2015 with a degree in interdisciplinary studies and is set to earn his Master’s degree in business management in May 2016. A six-time Scholar Baller®, which honors student-athletes who achieve over a 3.0 GPA in a given semester, he is heavily involved in the Fellowship of Christian Athletes and has served as a mentor to teammates and other ASU student-athletes throughout his career.

ASU's National Football Foundation Valley of the Sun College Scholar Athletes

2016 – Mike Bercovici
2016 – Kweishi Brown (HM)
2016 – Nick Kelly (HM)
2016 – Luke Williams (HM)
2015 – Taylor Kelly
2015 – Jamil Douglas (HM)
2015 – De’Marieya Nelson (HM)
2015 – Tyler Sulka (HM)
2014 – Gannon Conway
2013 - Brandon Johnson 

2013 - Deveron Carr (HM) 

2012 - Aaron Pflugrad

2011 - Thomas Weber

2010 - Mike Nixon

2009 - Troy Nolan

2008 - Michael Marquardt

2007 - Jason Burke

2006 - Chad Christensen

2005 - Grayling Love

2004 - Skyler Fulton

2003 - Mike Barth

2002 - Nick Murphy

2001 - Mike Aguirre

1997 - Damien Richardson

1996 - Kirk Robertson

1995 - Justin Dragoo

1994 - Parnell Charles

1993 - Toby Mills

1992 - Adam Brass

1992 - Kurt Lasher
1991 - Bret Powers 

1990 - Drew Metcalfe

1989 - Mark Tingstad

1988 - Todd Kalis
1978 - Chris Mott

1966 - Ken Dyer

Join the conversation all season
Twitter@FootballASU | FacebookSun Devil Football | Instagramsundevilathletics

Embrace Success
The most successful University athletics programs have a committed community behind them. Help affect change for Sun Devil Football by making a donation to their program and Embrace Success. 

Make a donation here

2016 Football Season Ticket Deposits
Secure your spot in Sun Devil Stadium. Season ticket deposits for the 2016 Sun Devil Football season are available now at or by calling 480-965-5812. Deposits are applied to the cost of the season ticket and current season ticket holders do not have to place a deposit. 

Arizona State Sun Devils Football
Inside Football
More Headlines
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals