MEMBER SIGN IN
Don't have an account? Click Here
M Swimming/Diving
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Men Break Two ASU Relay Records on Day 1 of Pac-12's
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 03/02/2016
Print RSS

FEDERAL WAY, Wash. -- The Arizona State men's swimming team started the Pac-12 Championships off the way head coach Bob Bowman wanted -- swimming faster than they ever have before.

"While we have a long way to go to be competiive with the top teams, I am very proud of the guys in breaking two school records tonight," said Bowman. "We will build off of these solid swims tomorrow."

The men's 200-yard medley relay and 800-yard freestyle relay teams each broke their respective ASU all-time record on Wednesday night at the Weyerhaeuser King County Aquatic Center. 

Junior Richard Bohus joined sophomore Patrick Park and fellow juniors Thomaz Martins and Barkley Perry for the men's 800 freestyle relay. With split times of 1:36.46, 1:37.12, 1:36.14 and 1:34.54, respectively, the men broke the ASU record set back in 2000. 

Bohus also swam the anchor in the men's 200-yard medley relay along with junior Reid Elliott, sophomore Christian Lorenz and junior Tadas Duskinas. Their time of 1:25.35 knocked off the previous record Bohus set with Lorenz, Duskinas and Park against Arizona nearly a month ago.

The Sun Devils will continue competition on Thursday morning with prelims for the 500-yard freestyle, 200 individual medley and the 50-yard freestyle at 11 a.m. PT/Noon MT.

Those three events will hold their finals along with the 200-yard freestyle relay starting at 6 p.m. PT/7 p.m. MT.

 

Arizona State Sun Devils M Swimming/Diving
advertisement
Sun Devil Mail
Inferno
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
WBB
FB Renewals
WBB