Don't have an account? Click Here
Beach Volleyball
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Sun Devil Beach Volleyball Splits Saturday Action In New Mexico
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 03/19/2016
Print RSS
Related Links

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M.—The Arizona State beach volleyball team (5-5) split its Saturday matches at the New Mexico Spring Beach Volleyball Tournament, sweeping New Mexico State before falling to host New Mexico, 4-1, at the Lucky 66 Bowl.

The junior duo of Bianca Arellano and Whitney Follette, playing at the No. 1 position, went 2-0 on the day and 3-0 on the weekend, first posting a straight-set victory over NMSU’s Andrea Tauai and Bradley Nash, 21-10, 21-11, before they defeated UNM’s Ashley Kelsey and Cassie House, 21-19, 21-15.

Against the Aggies, Mia Rivera and Jourdan Parnell picked up the first win of the day at No. 4, sweeping Kassandra Tohm and Kaylee Neal, 21-9, 21-7. Kwyn Johnson and Sydney Palmer followed with a win at No. 2, defeating Brianna Ainsworth and Jordan Abalos, 21-13, 21-17.

At No. 3, Madison Berridge and Bethany Wedepohl swept Ariadnne Sierra and Tatyana Battle, 21-11, 21-12, to clinch the Sun Devil victory. Frances Giedraitis and Logan Rae followed at with a win at No. 5, defeating Taylor Livotti and Bryn Popovich, 21-7, 21-13.

Coming up next, the Sand Devils travel to Tucson for a pair of matches on Friday, March 25, taking on CSU Bakersfield and Cal State Northridge at 9:30 a.m. PT and 5:30 p.m., respectively.

Arizona State 5, New Mexico State 0
1. Bianca Arellano/Whitney Follette (ASU) def. Andrea Tauai/Bradley Nash (NMSU) 21-10, 21-11

2. Kwyn Johnson/Sydney Palmer (ASU) def. Brianna Ainsworth/Jordan Abalos (NMSU) 21-13, 21-17

3. Madison Berridge/Bethany Wedepohl (ASU) def. Ariadnne Sierra/Tatyana Battle (NMSU) 21-11, 21-12
4. Mia Rivera/Jourdan Parnell (ASU) def. Kassandra Tohm/Kaylee Neal (NMSU) 21-9, 21-7

5. Frances Giedraitis/Logan Rae (ASU) def. Taylor Livoti/Bryn Popovich (NMSU) 21-7, 21-13

Order of finish: 4, 2, 3*, 5, 1

New Mexico 4, Arizona State 1
1. Bianca Arellano/Whitney Follette (ASU) def. Ashley Kelsey/Cassie House (UNM) 21-19, 21-15

2. Devanne Sours/Lise Rugland (UNM) def. Kwyn Johnson/Sydney Palmer (ASU) 21-19, 21-13

3. Hannah Johnson/Julia Warren (UNM) def. Madison Berridge/Bethany Wedepohl (ASU) 21-19, 21-17
4. Eastyn Baleto/Marisa Doran (UNM) def. Mia Rivera/Jourdan Parnell (ASU) 21-19, 21-16

5. Maddie Mayfield/Carson Heilborn (UNM) def. Blair Robalin/Logan Rae (ASU) 20-17, 21-17

Order of finish: 2, 1, 3, 4*, 5

Arizona State Sun Devils Beach Volleyball
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals