Don't have an account? Click Here
Sun Devils Serve
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Softball's Hillary Bach a Top Nine Finalist for 2012 NCAA Woman of the Year
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 09/13/2012
Print RSS
Related Links

Sept. 13, 2012

NCAA Release | Pac-12 Release | Video
Hillary Bach of Arizona State softball's 2012 senior class has been selected as a Top Nine Finalist for the 2012 Woman of the Year Award. The former Tillman Scholar was the 2012 Pac-12 Conference Woman of the Year, as announced this past August.

Nine student-athletes have been selected as finalists for the 2012 NCAA Woman of the Year award that will be announced on Oct. 14 during a ceremony in Indianapolis.

Finalists were selected based on academic achievement, athletics excellence and dedication to community service and leadership. Three women from each NCAA division were chosen.

Bach graduated with her undergraduate degree in business marketing in 2011, as a junior on the softball team. A winner of the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship this July, she is currently working towards her masters of business administration.

Top 9 Finalist for 2012 NCAA Woman of the Year

Hillary Bach, Arizona State University
Pac-12 Conference
Business Marketing
Hometown: Tulsa, Oklahoma

Grace Collins, Barry University
Sunshine State Conference
Philosophy and History
Hometown: Tampa, Florida

Kate Griewisch
, Lenoir-Rhyne University
South Atlantic Conference
Cross Country, Indoor and Outdoor Track and Field
Hometown: Banner Elk, North Carolina

Kelsey Kittleson, Luther College
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference
Hometown: St. Ansgar, Iowa

Sarah Jane Otey, U.S. Coast Guard Academy
New England Women's & Men's Athletic Conference
Marine and Environmental Science
Rowing and Swimming
Hometown: Billings, Montana

Brooke Pancake
, University of Alabama
Southeastern Conference
Hometown: Chattanooga, Tennessee

Alexi Pappas,
Dartmouth University
Ivy League
Creative Writing and English
Cross Country, Indoor and Outdoor Track and Field
Hometown: Alameda, California

Elizabeth Phillips,
Washington University (Missouri)
University Athletic Association
Biomedical Engineering
Cross Country, Indoor and Outdoor Track and Field
Hometown: Homer Glen, Illinois

Verena Preikschas,
California State University, Stanislaus
Hometown: Arnsberg, Germany

Beginning with 429 individuals who were nominated by member institutions for the national award, the selection process was narrowed down to the top 30 honorees, composed of 10 honorees from each NCAA division and spanning various NCAA sports.

Cumulatively, the top 30 earned a 3.87 grade-point average and more than 90 Academic All-America honors, earned nearly 20 national championships (individual and team) and nearly 110 All-America honors and have volunteered for more than 375 organizations during their college careers.

Now in its 22nd year, the NCAA Woman of the Year Award honors graduating student-athletes who have distinguished themselves throughout their collegiate careers in the areas of academic achievement, athletics excellence, community service and leadership.

In 2004, ASU football's Grayling Love was the first recipient of the Pac-10 Conference Sportsmanship Award, which was open to both genders and the predecessor to the conference creating the Woman of the Year award.

Four Pac-12 student-athletes, all from Arizona, have won the NCAA Woman of the Year Award. Wildcat swimmers Whitney Myers (2007), Lacey Nymeyer (2009) and Justine Schluntz (2010) won the last two, while former track and field athlete Tanya Jones received the honor in 1994.

Previous to conferences nominating one WOY, each institution sent in their nomination to the NCAA.

Arizona State Sun Devils Sun Devils Serve
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals