Don't have an account? Click Here
Freeman Advances As Top 25 Finalist for 2013 Softball Collegiate Player of the Year
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 04/10/2013
Print RSS
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Related Links

April 10, 2013

Freeman Photo Gallery

USA Softball Release | Top 25 Finalists | Pac-12 Release
Amber Freeman of Arizona State softball has been named a Top 25 Finalist for the 2013 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year. The award is designed to recognize the outstanding athletic achievement by female players across the country.

Freeman is one of four sophomores to make the cut. The 2013 version of the Top 25 is comprised of 11 seniors, eight juniors, four sophomores and two freshmen. The list will be narrowed to the Top 10 Finalists on May 8. The Top 3 Finalists will be announced May 22 with the winner revealed on May 28 at the Women's College World Series in Oklahoma City. 

Last year, senior Katelyn Boyd was a Top 3 Finalist. This is the first time for Freeman to make it on the Top 50 and Top 25 list.

About Amber Freeman | Catcher | Sophomore | Lakewood, Calif.
Freeman leads the team with 44 hits, 49 RBI and is second on the team with 13 home runs. Just last weekend she hit an individual game-high two home runs at No. 14 Stanford and tied her single-game high in RBI with five. 

Nationally she ranks 15th in RBI per game (1.23), and 15th in homers (13), which averages to 0.33 per game. In the 99 games played in her two-year career, she already sprinkles the ASU record books in four spots. In single-season marks she's tied for 17th in homers (13), 20th in RBI (49). Career wise she's only getting better. Freeman is 12th in home runs (26) and 21st and one RBI shy of cracking top 20 in RBI (89).

Freeman had 57 starts as a freshman and was named to the WCWS All-Tournament Team, Pac-12 All-Conference Honorable Mention and Pac-12 All-Freshman.


2013 Top 25 Finalists
Cassidy Bell, Penn State
Kayla Braud, Alabama
Lauren Chamberlain, Oklahoma
Raven Chavanne, Tennessee
Rachele Fico, LSU
Amber Freeman, Arizona State
Michelle Gascoigne, Oklahoma
Lauren Gibson, Tennessee
Jolene Henderson, California
Taylor Hoagland, Texas
Kaila Hunt, Alabama
Kaitlin Inglesby, Washington
Emilee Koerner, Notre Dame
Katie Keller, Louisville
Blaire Luna, Texas
Haylie McCleney, Alabama
Jessica Moore, Oregon
Sara Nevins, South Florida
Ellen Renfroe, Tennessee
Sierra Romero, Michigan
Keilani Ricketts, Oklahoma
Hannah Rogers, Florida
Chelsea Thomas, Missouri
Jackie Traina, Alabama
Devon Wallace, Arkansas 

The USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award is voted on by coaching representatives from 11 Division I Conferences in the 15 ASA Regions as well as members of the media who consistently cover Division I Softball across the country. 

Arizona State Sun Devils Cross Country
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals