Don't have an account? Click Here
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Dj Foster
Football's Foster Named to Hornung Award Watch List
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 07/05/2013
Print RSS
Related Links

Louisville, Ky. - Arizona State University sophomore running back DJ Foster has been named to the Paul Hornung Award 2013 Watch List, the Louisville Sports Commission announced Friday.

The Paul Hornung Award, now in its fourth season, is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission and football legend and Louisville native Paul Hornung.

Foster, a local product from Saguaro High School in Scottsdale, Ariz., earned 2012 freshman All-America honors in his first season at ASU after he finished second on the team in all-purpose yardage with 1,026 yards, including 493 rushing and 533 receiving.

His 38 receptions and his 533 receiving yards both rank as the second-highest marks by a freshman in a season in school history (Zach Miller holds both records with 56 touchdowns and 552 yards in 2004).

Foster tallied six touchdowns, including four receiving, and his 4.8 yards per rush were second on the team and his 14.0 yards per catch were third. He also led the team with 31 total (18 receiving and 13 rushing) "explosive plays," which the ASU coaching staff deems as rushes of 12 or more yards and receptions of 16 or more yards.

He played in all 13 games in 2012 and became one of just six true freshmen in school history to start in their first opportunity.

Foster's inclusion on the 2013 watch list marks the third time in as many years a Sun Devil has made the list as Jamal Miles earned a spot prior to both the 2011 and 2012 seasons.

2013 Sun Devil Award Watch Lists
Foster - Hornung Award (nation's most versatile player) 
Kody Koebensky - Rimington Award (nation's top center)
Alden Darby - Lott IMPACT Trophy (positive influence both on and off the field)

"The Paul Hornung Award Watch List for the upcoming season is an impressive group of players who excel at multiple positions to help their teams win, which is how I played the game," Hornung said. "It will be interesting to see which players excel during the season and emerge as the top choices of our selection committee."

Foster is one of four sophomores and one of four Pac-12 student-athletes on the 2013 Watch List, which was compiled by a panel of college football experts based on a combination of 2012 statistics, career performance and expectations heading into the 2013 season.

"We have had the opportunity to welcome great young men to Louisville as winners of the Paul Hornung Award in years past, and I believe we are in line to welcome another great player to our community in 2014," Hornung said. "I look forward to honoring the winner here in Louisville at one of the best banquets the country has to offer for college football players and their families."

2013 Watch List Selections

Jared Abbrederis, Wisconsin
Ameer Abdullah, Nebraska
Antonio Andrews, WKU
Dri Archer, Kent State
D.J. Banks, Louisiana Tech
Odell Beckham Jr., LSU
Corey Brown, Ohio State
Isaiah Burse, Fresno State
Trey Burton, Florida
Michael Campanaro, Wake Forest
Brandon Carter, TCU
Chris Coyer, Temple
Quandre Diggs, Texas
Stefon Diggs, Maryland
Bruce Ellington, South Carolina
Tyler Ervin, San Jose State
Cody Fajardo, Nevada
JD Falslev, BYU
D.J. Foster, Arizona State
Jerry "BooBoo" Gates, Bowling Green
Justin Gilbert, Oklahoma State
Jamal Golden, Georgia Tech
Scott Harding, Hawaii
Akeem Hunt, Purdue
Kyshoen Jarrett, Virginia Tech
Duke Johnson, Miami (FLA)
Christion Jones, Alabama
Marqise Lee, Southern California
Tommylee Lewis, Northern Illinois
Tyler Lockett, Kansas State
Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois
Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
Venric Mark, Northwestern
Malcolm Mitchell, Georgia
Marcus Murphy, Missouri
LaDarius Perkins, Mississippi State
Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida
Bernard Reedy, Toledo
Jamill Smith, Ball State
Damien Thigpen, UCLA
De'Anthony Thomas, Oregon
Tramaine Thompson, Kansas State
Sammy Watkins, Clemson
Trey Watts, Tulsa

About the Paul Hornug Award presented by Texas Roadhouse
The Louisville Sports Commission successfully launched the Paul Hornung Award in 2010 to honor its namesake and native son and to promote outstanding performances by versatile college football players that often go unnoticed. Owen Marecic of Stanford, a two-way starter and All Pac-10 performer at fullback and linebacker, won the inaugural Paul Hornung Award; Brandon Boykin of Georgia won the award in 2011 after excelling on defense, offense and special teams; Tavon Austin of West Virginia won the award in 2012 being one of two players in the nation with more than 500 yards in three different categories (rushing, receiving and kick returns).

Texas Roadhouse signed on as presenting sponsor of the Paul Hornung Award in 2011 and will team with the Louisville Sports Commission to power fan voting again this season. College football fans nationwide will have the opportunity to vote for their favorite player during the regular season and again during the bowl season. Fan voting will open in late September and factor into selection of the finalists and winner.

The winner will be honored at the official Paul Hornung Award Banquet sponsored by KentuckyOne Health, held at the Galt House in downtown Louisville in late January 2014.

Arizona State Sun Devils Football
Inside Football
More Headlines
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals