Don't have an account? Click Here
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Coyle’s 57 receptions in 2012 set the single-season school record and his five touchdown catches were the third most by a tight end in school history
Football’s Coyle Earns Spot On Mackey Award Watch List
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 07/09/2013
Print RSS
Related Links

NEW YORK – Arizona State University football student-athlete Chris Coyle has been named to the 2013 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List, the committee announced Tuesday.

The Mackey Award is given annually to the nation’s most outstanding tight end.

Coyle’s 57 receptions in 2012 set the single-season school record and his five touchdown catches were the third most by a tight end in school history en route to All-Pac-12 honorable mention recogniton. 

He led the Sun Devils with 696 receiving yards this past season, including a 10-catch, 131-yard game against Illinois on Sept. 8. That performance was tied for the most receptions by a tight end in a single game in school history and was the second-highest receiving yards for a tight end in ASU annals.

Coyle, who graduated from ASU in Spring 2013 with a Bachelor’s degree in Interdisciplinary Studies (Communication and Economics), is a three-year letterman and has played in 26 career games.

Coyle, who is one of seven tight ends from the Pac-12 represented on the list, joins seven Sun Devil teammates on national award watch lists.  

2013 Sun Devil Award Watch Lists

Mackey Award (nation’s most outstanding tight end) – Chris Coyle

Maxwell Award (nation's most outstanding player) - Marion GriceTaylor KellyWill Sutton 

Bednarik Award (nation's most outstanding defensive player) - Carl Bradford, Sutton

Hornung Award (nation's most versatile player) - DJ Foster

Rimington Award (nation's top center) - Kody Koebensky 

Lott IMPACT Trophy (positive influence both on and off the field) - Alden Darby

The 2013 Mackey Midseason Watch List will be unveiled on Oct. 14, 2013, the 2013 Mackey Semi-finalists on Nov. 18, 2013 and the 2013 Mackey Finalists on Nov. 25, 2013. The 2013 John Mackey recipient will be presented live on Dec. 12, 2013 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show.

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position.  A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA. 

The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, lists twelve NFL players as alumni: two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham ('01), 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark ('02), Kellen Winslow II ('03) of the New York Jets, two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller ('04) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Marcedes Lewis ('05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth ('06) of the of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Fred Davis ('07) of the Washington Redskins, Chase Coffman ('08) of the Atlanta Falcons, Aaron Hernandez ('09), D.J. Williams ('10) of the Green Bay Packers,  Dwayne Allen (’11) of the Indianapolis Colts and the 2012 John Mackey Award recipient Tyler Eifert of the Cincinnati Bengals.    

Arizona State Sun Devils Football
Inside Football
More Headlines
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals