Don't have an account? Click Here
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Will Sutton, Carl Bradford and Chris Young
Football Places Three More On Award Watch Lists
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 07/15/2013
Print RSS
Related Links

TEMPE, Ariz. – Arizona State University football student-athlete Will Sutton has been named to the Rotary Lombardi Award preliminary watch list, and fellow Sun Devils Carl Bradford and Chris Young have earned spots on the Butkus Award preseason watch list, it was announced Monday.

The Rotary Lombardi Award is given to the nation’s most outstanding down lineman and the Butkus Award honors the nation’s most outstanding linebacker.

This marks the fifth 2013 preseason award watch list Sutton has been selected to, the third for Bradford and the first for Young.

A total of nine different Sun Devils, including five on offense and four on defense, have earned nods on 10 different preseason award watch lists this summer.

The defensive trio of Bradford, Sutton and Young paved the way for a 2012 Sun Devil defense that led the nation with nine tackles for loss per game and ranked second in the nation with four sacks per contest.

The team’s 52 sacks tied for the second most in school history and its 117 tackles for loss also tied for the second most in ASU annals. 

Young was the team's third-leading tackler with 82 and was also third on the team with 14 tackles for loss. He started all 13 games in 2012 and recorded double-digit tackles in three games.  

Sutton, who became ASU's 18th Consensus All-American in 2012, posted 63 tackles, including 23.5 for loss and 13 sacks this past season. He was also the recipient of the Pac-12 Pat Tillman Defensive Player of the Year award and the prestigious Morris Trophy, as well as the Kraft Fight Hunger Bowl Defensive MVP. He finished his junior year ranked second in the nation in 1.92 tackles for loss per game and third nationally with 1.08 sacks per game.

Sutton also served as the official starter for the 9th Annual Pat's Run Kids Run this past April and was named a finalist for the Outstanding Student-Athlete NCAA award.

Bradford ranked second on the team with 11.5 sacks and 20.5 tackles for loss en route to 81 total tackles, and also tied for the team lead with three forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries. Bradford's 1.58 tackles for loss per game ranked 11th in the nation in 2012 and second in the Pac-12 behind Sutton.

Bradford and Sutton combined for 44 tackles for loss in 2012, the most in ASU history, and they became the first pair of Sun Devils to record 20+ TFLs since Al Harris (22) and Bob Kohrs (20) in 1978, as well as post double digits in sacks in the same season since 1994.

2013 Sun Devil Award Watch Lists
Butkus Award (nation’s most outstanding linebacker) – Carl Bradford, Chris Young

Lombardi (nation’s most outstanding down lineman) - Will Sutton

Outland Trophy (nation’s most outstanding interior lineman) – Sutton

Nagurski Trophy (national defensive player of the year) – Bradford, Sutton

Mackey Award (nation’s most outstanding tight end) – Chris Coyle

Maxwell Award (nation’s most outstanding player) – Marion Grice, Taylor Kelly, Sutton

Bednarik Award (nation’s most outstanding defensive player) – Bradford, Sutton

Hornung Award (nation's most versatile player) - DJ Foster

Rimington Award (nation's top center) - Kody Koebensky 

Lott IMPACT Trophy (positive influence both on and off the field) - Alden Darby

The Rotary Lombardi Award

The Rotary Lombardi Watch List, intended as a reference tool for the Selection Committee, will be periodically updated and revised through the conclusion of the voting to determine the 12 Semifinalists for 2013.

The 44th Rotary Lombardi Award will be held on December 11, 2013 at the Wortham Center in Houston, Texas.  For more information on the schedule of events, please

The Rotary Lombardi Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.

The Butkus Award

The Butkus Award, or, is presented by the Butkus Foundation, a 501c3 non-profit organization. The semi-finalists will be named October 28, finalists November 26, and winners will be notified on or before December 10.  

ASU opens the 2013 season on Sept. 5 at Sun Devil Stadium against Sacramento State and the remaining schedule features two conference champions, the national championship runner-up and traditional Pac-12 rivals.

To purchase season tickets or enroll in a payment plan, call the Sun Devil Athletics sales department at 480-965-5812, go online at, or come in person to the Sun Devil ticket office, which is located on the south end of Sun Devil Stadium and is open from 9 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday through Friday. Fans can also mail a check to: Sun Devil Athletics P.O. Box 872405, Tempe, AZ 85287.

Arizona State Sun Devils Football
Inside Football
More Headlines
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals