Don't have an account? Click Here
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Todd Clapper To Be Honored By USA Water Polo at Annual Awards Banquet
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 03/06/2014
Print RSS
Related Links

TEMPE -- Arizona State University water polo head coach Todd Clapper will be honored by USA Water Polo at the organization’s annual Hall of Fame Induction and National Awards Dinner on April 5.

Clapper will receive the Sandy Nitta Distinguished Women’s Coaching Award in honor of taking the 2013 Sun Devil water polo team to its most successful season in program history last season.

This spring marks Todd Clapper's ninth season at the helm of the Arizona State University women's water polo team and he'll have his hands full trying to top 2013. A combined 51-13 over the last two seasons, the Sun Devils have seen seven All-America honors earned in that span as well.

Clapper and the Sun Devils turned in a program record 26 wins in 2013 en route to a fourth place finish at the MPSF Championship, their best ever, as well as a final ranking of fourth in the CWPA Coaches Poll – also the team’s highest ever.

The team picked up two signature victories last season, defeating UCLA on March 2 at the Mona Plummer Pool for the programs first victory over the Bruins ever and followed that up with a win over California in Berkeley on March 16 – the first road win for the Sun Devils at Cal in program history as well. Those victories helped Arizona State reach a number three ranking in the nation, the highest ever in program history.

A strong recruiter, Clapper saw one of his newest athletes, Izabella Chiappini, recently named Brazilian Player of the Year.

USA Water Polo's Annual Awards dinner is set for April 5 at the Hotel Irvine Jamboree Center in Irvine, California in conjunction with the USA Water Polo Hall Of Fame Induction. As established in 2010, the awards have each been named in honor of a person or persons who have made an extraordinary contribution to the sport. Winners were chosen through a zone nomination process and then reviewed by a national selection panel. See below for a complete list of winners and their accomplishments in the sport in 2013 in addition to zone award recipients.

Arizona State Sun Devils Water Polo
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals