Don't have an account? Click Here
Freeman Pac-12 Softball Player of the Year; Team Lands Three on First Team
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 05/15/2013
Print RSS
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Related Links

May 15, 2013

Complete List of Awards
Amber Freeman of Arizona State softball was named the Pac-12 Softball Player of the Year as announced on Wednesday afternoon by the league office. Freeman was also tabbed First Team All-Conference alongside Dallas Escobedo and Cheyenne Coyle.

In total, four Sun Devils made All-Conference, including Second Team honoree Mackenzie Popescue. Honorable Mention accolades were given to Alix Johnson, Bethany Kemp, Sam Parlich, Haley Steele and Bailey Wigness.

Earning her first collegiate award, Nikki Girard was ASU's lone rookie on the All-Freshman Team.

Freeman is the first Sun Devil to be named the Pac-12 Player of the Year since Kaitlin Cochran did so three times from 2007-09. In total, Arizona State now has had five Players of the Year, four under head coach Clint Myers.

ASU has 43 First Team conference honorees dating back to 1987. Escobedo has earned First Team honors all three years at Arizona State. This is the first time for Freeman, Coyle and Popescue to make the list.

Tempe Regional of the NCAA Tournament begins at 12:30 p.m. PT on Friday and the Sun Devils will face off against San Jose State at 3 p.m. PT. More information about the NCAA Tournament can be found here.

Arizona State Sun Devils Softball
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals