Don't have an account? Click Here
Tim Mickelson
Position: Head Coach
Hometown: San Diego, Calif.
High School: Union San Diego

Feature on Coach Mickelson from Arizona Golf Insider (Spring of 2012) Get Acrobat Reader

--Throughout the years: Tim and Phil (Photo Gallery done by provided by Mary Mickelson)

--Coach Mickelson to build on brothers legacy ( 4, 2012)

--VIDEO FEATURE: Tim and Phil talk about growing up together (by Isaac Easley, Sun Devils 101/February of 2012)

--Coach Mickelson out to establish a golf dynasty (by Elijah Grasser, State Press/July 24, 2011)

--Coach Tim Mickelson aims to bring ASU men's golf back to Phil-like glory (by Jeff Metcalfe, Arizona Republic/July 19, 2011)

--Extra! Extra! Mickelson to coach at ASU (by Bill Huffman, Arizona Golf Association/July 10, 2011)

Tim Mickelson, who had led the University of San Diego to the school's first three NCAA appearances in program history, was named Sun Devil head men's golf on July 10, 2011. Mickelson, a four-time West Coast Conference Coach of the Year honors, became the 13th coach in the history of the program which won national titles in 1990 (under Steve Loy) and 1996 (under Randy Lein).

"Tim Mickelson is a talented and proven leader on this level, an experienced coach and a dynamic recruiter. He has the ability to rally our Sun Devil community. He knows our program from being a student-athlete here and he understands the Sun Devil Way. His personality and demeanor match our ideals in what we want as a Sun Devil coach," said former University Vice President Steve Patterson.

"It's an honor to be the men's golf coach at Arizona State. Our goal will be to produce teams and individuals who are competing at the highest level. I look forward to working with the Phoenix golf community in promoting the program and working with another national championship coach in Melissa McNamara Luellen [women's golf NCAA champions in 2009]. It's an honor and a privilege to once again be a part of Arizona State and the Pac-12 Conference."

Mickelson, the younger brother of Sun Devil and PGA Tour professional Phil Mickelson, arrived at ASU following a remarkable eight-year run at USD where he steadily built the program into a national contender, which finished in the Top 20 each of his final three years (2009-11), including an eighth-place finish in 2010. In addition to advancing to NCAAs the final three seasons, Mickelson guided the program to the NCAA Regionals five of his final six seasons, including the last four. He also spear-headed the most successful season in USD history in 2009-10, leading the Toreros to a school-record five tournament victories and 10 top-five team finishe

In 2011 Mickelson was named WCC Coach of the Year for the fourth time in his career (2011, 2010, 2008, 2005), as he led the Toreros to nine top-five finishes, including a pair of tournament victories, and a 16th-place finish at the NCAA Championships. Under Mickelson's guidance, USD junior Alex Ching was named the WCC's Golfer of the Year.

After inheriting a Torero team that had placed in the lower half of the WCC in 2003, Mickelson immediately led San Diego to a top-tier conference finish in his first year directing the fortunes of the USD program. Mickelson's second campaign was highlighted by San Diego winning team championship honors at the 17-school, 2005 Men's Fidelity National Title held at Cypress Ridge Golf Course on California's Central Coast.

Prior to taking the head coaching position at USD, Mickelson spent two seasons as assistant to Dale Walker at San Diego State, helping lead the Aztecs to back-to-back appearances in the NCAA Regionals, as well as an appearance in the 2003 NCAA National Championship.

Mickelson, who was a member of ASU's 1996 NCAA Championship team, played three seasons at Arizona State (1995-1998) before concluding his collegiate career at Oregon State. He earned Academic All-Pac-10 honors in 1997 and 1998. At OSU Mickelson finished second individually at the 2000 Pac-10 Championships, leading the Beavers to a second-place conference finish. The current holder of numerous OSU golf records, including low 18, 36, 54, and 72-hole scoring records, he graduated Cum Laude with a Bachelor of Science degree in Liberal Studies.

Aaron McCreary, 1931
Joe Selleh, 1932
Earl Pomeroy, 1940
Bill Quinn, 1948-1949
Al Onofrio, 1952-1956
John Zuchowski, 1958
Francis E. Markham, 1959-1960
Bill Mann, 1961-1974
George Boutell, 1975-1986
Steve Loy, 1987-1992
Todd Rolfes, 1992 (interim)
Randy Lein, 1992-2011
Tim Mickelson, 2011-present

Cum Laude with B.S. from Oregon State in 1999
Played three seasons at Arizona State (1995-1998)
1999 Pac-10 runner-up while at Oregon State

2011-Present: Head Coach, Arizona State University (hired July 10, 2011)
2003-10: Head Coach, University of San Diego
2001-03: Assistant Coach, San Diego State (head coach Dale Walker)

Four-time West Coast Conference Coach of the Year (2011, 2010, 2008, 2005)

2013-14: Team wins 2014 ASU Thunderbird Invitational in record-setting fashion on March 21-23 as Jon Rahm wins individual title.

2012-13: Earns NCAA Quarterfinal appearance as Jon Rahm shoots NCAA Championship opening-round 61. Rahm also wins 2013 San Diego Classic (March 11-12) and 2012 Bill Cullum Inviational in September.

2011-12: Team ties for team title at 2011 Bill Cullum Invitational (September 17-18), its first tournament title since fall of 2009, and Spencer Fletcher eans Cullum Invitational co-medalist honors.

2010-11: Finish tied for 16th at NCAA Championship, third at regionals and third in the WCC. Named WCC Coach of the Year for fourth time.

2009-10: Tied for eighth at NCAA Championship, third in the regionals and second in the WCC. Named WCC Coach of the Year for third time.

2008-09: Finished 13th at NCAA Championhips, fourth at regionals and tied for third in the WCC.

2007-08: Won the WCC title and earned WCC Coach of the Year.

2006-07: Finished second in the West Coast Conference.

2005-06: Finished 25th at Regionals.

2004-05: Finished sixth in WCC and earned WCC Coach of the Year for the first of four times.

2003-04: Finished fourth in the WCC.

Sun Devil Mail
EV Caravan
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
EV Caravan
Baseball Flex Plans