Don't have an account? Click Here
Brett Wallace Named Pac-10 Player of the Year
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 05/23/2007
Print RSS
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Related Links

May 23, 2007

TEMPE, Ariz. - Arizona State sophomore first baseman Brett Wallace has been named the Pac-10 Conference Player of the Year, the conference announced today. Wallace becomes the 12th Sun Devil to earn the honor, and the first since Dustin Pedroia in 2003.

Wallace (Sonoma, Calif.) currently leads the Pac-10 in batting average (.425), RBI (73) and home runs (15) and has helped Arizona State clinch at least a tie for the Pac-10 title.

"Brett has taken another step forward in the line of great Sun Devils," said 2007 Pac-10 Coach of the Year Pat Murphy. "He came in and immediately contributed as a freshman, upped his game as a sophomore and will no doubt continue to improve. He is all about the right things. This is a great honor for a great young man."

Wallace joins an illustrious list of former Sun Devils to earn the award. Former Pac-10 Player of the Year Sun Devils include Mike Sodders (1981), Alvin Davis (1982), Oddibe McDowell (1984), Linty Ingram (1988), Paul Lo Duca (1993), Jacob Cruz (1994), Willie Bloomquist (1999) and Casey Myers (2000 &2001).

Arizona State Sun Devils Tickets
Inside Tickets
More Headlines
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign