Don't have an account? Click Here
Jason Kipnis Named Pac-10 Player of the Year
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 05/28/2009
Print RSS
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Related Links

May 28, 2009

TEMPE, Ariz. - Arizona State University junior outfielder Jason Kipnis has been named the Pac-10 Conference Player of the Year, it was announced today. It is the third straight season that an ASU player has been named the conference's top player, after Brett Wallace won in both 2007 and 2008.

Kipnis (Northbrook, Ill.) leads the team with a .380 batting average and 76 hits, and he is second with 14 home runs and 65 RBI. He is also the team leader with 18 doubles, 36 extra base hits, 45 walks and 21 stolen bases, and he is yet to commit an error in the field this year.

Kipnis is the 14th Sun Devil to be named Pac-10 Player of the Year, joining former ASU greats such as Wallace, Casey Myers (2000 and 2001), Willie Bloomquist (1999), Paul LoDuca (1993), Oddibe McDowell (1984) and Alvin Davis (1982).

Arizona State Sun Devils Tickets
Inside Tickets
More Headlines
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign