Don't have an account? Click Here
ABCA Names All-West District Team
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 06/21/1999
Print RSS
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Related Links

June 15, 1999

Junior shortstop Willie Bloomquist was named a first-team American Baseball Coaches Association All-West District team while teammate Andrew Beinbrink, a senior third baseman was honored as a second-team selection.

Bloomquist, who signed with the Seattle Mariners last week, hit. 394 this season with a team-leading 100 hits. The Port Orchard, Wash. native led the team in triples, walks, runs and was second in RBI and doubles.

Beinbrink, a seventh-round pick of the Tampa Bay Devil Rays earlier this month led the team in RBI and homeruns while batting a robust .402 in 1999. Beinbrink finished his four-year career with ASU as the all-time leader in RBI and runs scored.

ABCA 1999 All-West District Team

Name               Position            School
Mario Ramos        Pitcher             Rice
Jason Young        Pitcher             Stanford
Barry Zito         Pitcher             USC
Jason Gehrke       Relief Pitcher      Pepperdine
Mike Tonis         Catcher             California
Taggert Bozide     First Base          San Francisco
Chase Utley        Second Base         UCLA
Willie Bloomquist  Shortstop           Arizona State
Xavier Nady        Third Base          California
Specer Oborn       Outfielder          CS Fullerton
Bill Scott         Outfielder          UCLA
Lyle Overbay       Outfielder          Nevada
Joe Borchard       Outfielder          Stanford
Jason Lane         Designated Hitter   USC
Second Team
Name               Position            School
Mike Gallo         Pitcher             Long Beach State
Jeff Heaverlo      Pitcher             Washington
David Adams        Pitcher             Pepperdine
John Smith         Relief Pitcher      CS Fullerton
Dan Sardinha       Catcher             Pepperdine
Don Price          First Base          Nevada
David Bacani       Second Base         CS Fullerton
Damon Thames       Shortstop           Rice
Andrew Beinbrink   Third Base          Arizona State
Anthony Acevedo    Outfielder          Fresno State
Charles Williams   Outfielder          Rice
Ryan Ludwick       Outfielder          UNLV
Bryan Williamson   Designated Hitter   Washington
Arizona State Sun Devils Tickets
Inside Tickets
More Headlines
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign