Don't have an account? Click Here
Deven Marrero Named Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year; 13 Devils Earn All-Pac-10 Honors
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 05/31/2011
Print RSS
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Related Links

May 31, 2011

TEMPE, Ariz. - Sophomore shortstop Deven Marrero has been named the Pac-10 Defensive Player of the year and was one of 13 members of the Arizona State Sun Devil baseball team to earn All-Pac-10 Conference honors, the conference announced. Five student-athletes were named to the First Team, while eight earned honorable mention.

Marrero is the second Sun Devil to earn Defensive Player of the Year honors, joining Eric Sogard, who won the award in 2007. Marrero was joined on the All-Pac-10 First Team by junior catcher Austin Barnes, sophomore designated hitter Joey DeMichele, junior outfielder Johnny Ruettiger and junior third baseman Riccio Torrez. It is the second straight year Torrez has earned First Team honors. Barnes, Marrero and Ruettiger all earned honorable mention in 2010.

Sophomore RHP Alex Blackford, junior RHP Kramer Champlin, junior LHP Mitchell Lambson, junior second baseman Zack MacPhee, senior outfielder Matt Newman, sophomore RHP Brady Rodgers, freshman RHP Trevor Williams and junior first baseman Zach Wilson all earned honorable mention.

Arizona State Sun Devils Tickets
Inside Tickets
More Headlines
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign