Don't have an account? Click Here
Women's B Team Wins Canyon West Cross Country Classic
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 10/01/2001
Print RSS
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Related Links

Oct. 1, 2001

TEMPE, Ariz. - Led by fifth and sixth-place finishers Joanie Baca and Beth Martin, Arizona State's women's cross country "B" teams won the women's team title at the Canyon West Classic, hosted by Mesa Community College, at Kiwanis Park in Tempe, Saturday, Sept. 29.

Alvina Begay (8th, 18:51), sophomore Megan Laib (12th, 19:15), junior Candi Criscione (15th, 19:41) and redshirt freshman Kelly Burke (16th, 19:49).

ASU's men had just two scoring entries, as sophomore Grant Popp placed 16th (26:13) and sophomore Sidney Freeland finished 25th (26:44.7). Lewis University won the men's team title.

Up next, the Sun Devils will host the ASU Invitational, Friday, Oct. 5, at Freestone Park in Gilbert, Ariz. The meet begins with an open race for both men and women, followed by the women's 5,000-meter race at 4:45 p.m. and the men's 8,000-meter race at 5:15 p.m.

CANYON WEST CLASSIC - Kiwanis Park, Tempe, Ariz.
MEN -Team Finishes

1. Lewis, 31 pts., 2. Central Arizona College, 36, 3. Pima C.C., 4. Phoenix College, 117, 5. Strapped Jock Running Club, 136, 6. Team Racelab, 152, 7. Mesa C.C., 192, 8. Scottsdale C.C 201., 9. Quest Club, 230.

WOMEN -Team Finishes
1.Arizona State "B," 41 pts, 2. Central Arizona College, 45, 3. Quest Club, 99, 4. Strapped Jock Running Club, 106, 5. Yavapai C.C., 126, 6. Pima C.C., 129, 7. Mesa C.C., 140.

MEN -ASU Individuals (8K)
16. Grant Popp 26:13
25. Sidney Freeland 26:44

WOMEN -ASU Individuals (5K)
5. Joanie Baca 18:24
6. Beth Martin 18:37
8. Alvina Begay 18:51
12. Megan Laib 19:15
15. Candi Criscione 19:41
16. Kelly Burke 19:49
39. Monique Acothley 21:04

Arizona State Sun Devils Tickets
Inside Tickets
More Headlines
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign