Don't have an account? Click Here
ASU Baseball Legacy Comes To Life At 2013 Alumni Game
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 02/10/2013
Print RSS
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Related Links

Feb. 10, 2013

2013 Alumni Game Photo Gallery

TEMPE, Ariz. -The 2013 Arizona State baseball team beat the former players 21-2 Saturday afternoon at the annual Alumni Game, which showcases the extensive Sun Devil baseball legacy as it pits the current Arizona State baseball team against past letterwinners.

Eighty-three former Sun Devil baseball players made up the alumni roster, which spanned from 1956 to 2012, with freshmen in college talking to players dating back to seasons in the 60s, and current and former Major League players mingling with former teammates and the 2013 team. Sixty-seven former players showed up to last year's game.

Trever Allen started things off with a two-run double in the first and the young team batted around and scored five runs before heading into the bottom of the first inning.

The Alumni answered back with a one-run double by Matt Newman (2008-11) to end the first, but the 2013 team was quick to score again.

Current catcher Nathaniel Causey hit a two-run homer in the top of the second to give the young team a 7-1 lead over the Alums. However, the Alumni weren't going down that easy.

In the bottom of the third Alum Abe Mohler (1998-99) scored on a single from Daniel Milner (2010-11) putting the veterans within five. The Alumni then held the 2013 team scoreless through the next two innings.

Unfortunately for the Alumni, the hitting drought didn't last long. The 2013 freshman class help put up 10 runs in the sixth inning.

Freshman Dalton DiNatale started the freshmen streak off, driving in sophomore Drew Stankiewicz with a single, and classmate Johnny Sewald followed suit with a one-run single up the middle.

The underclassmen onslaught continued as freshman Cullen O'Dwyer hit a two-run double to put the 2013 team up 11-2 over the Alumni.

The doubles didn't stop there, either. Freshman RJ Ybarra and senior Max Rossiter hit back-to-back doubles -Ybarra with a two-run and Rossiter with three - for a total of five RBI to give the 2013 Devils a 14-run lead. Another promising freshman, Christopher Beall, who is also in Barrett, The Honors College, drove in three runs with a double of his own to put the game officially out of reach.

Then came the Torrez face-off between Alumni pitcher Raoul Torrez (2007-10) and his younger bother, freshman Emilio Torrez. Youth again proved dominate as Emilio knocked a hard two-run double off his brother and upped the score to 17-2 in the top of the sixth.

Over the next two innings the 2013 team would rake in four more runs, including two from a double by Ybarra, and the Alumni remained scoreless throughout, but a shattered bat and some diving catches by the Alum's made for some entertaining last frames.

The final score, 21-2, proved only that the great Sun Devil baseball legacy continues.

The 2013 Sun Devils return to action at Packard Stadium at 6:30 p.m. on Feb. 15 as they open the season against Bethune Cookman.

Alumni roster
*81 total letterwinners
*17 Major League Baseball players (MLB)
*16 current Minor League Baseball players (MiLB)
*5 Hall of Famers - College Baseball/Arizona State Hall of Fames (CB/ASU HOF)
*93 combined College World Series appearances (CWS)
*5 combined National Player of the Year Award winners (POY)
*16 combined National Championships (NC)
*22 All-American honors (AA)
*5 members of Team USA (USA)
*1 College World Series Most Outstanding Player (CWS MOP)

Head Coach: Bobby Winkles (CB/ASU HOF, 3NC, 4CWS)
Assistant Coach: Jim Railey

56-60 - Troy Neal
57-60 - John Jacobs
59, 61-62 - Bill Gorman
61-62 - Harley Anderson
61-62 - Larry Brion
63-65 - Tony Alesci (NC, 2CWS)
65-66 - Jim Armstrong (NC, CWS)
65-66 - Glenn Smith (NC, CWS)
65-67 - Jack Lind (MLB, 2NC, 2CWS)
66-67 - Ralph Carpenter (NC, CWS)
67-68 - Ron Davini (NC, CWS MVP, CWS)
67-69 - Roger Detter (2NC, 2CWS)
69-70 - Terry Brenner (NC, CWS)
70-71, 73 - Bill Berger (AA, CWS)
73-76 - Ken Landreaux (MLB, AA, 3CWS)
74-77 - Darrell Jackson (MLB, NC, 3CWS)
74-75 - Jerry Maddox (MLB, POY, AA, CWS)
74-75 - Dan Davidson (CWS)
74-76 - Mike Colbern (MLB, AA, 2CWS)
75-77 - Mike Henderson (3CWS)
75-76 - Ken Phelps (MLB, 2CWS)
77-78 - Hubie Brooks (MLB, ASU HOF, 2AA, NC, 2CWS)
77-79 - Jamie Allen (MLB, NC, 2CWS)
78-80 - Ken Jones (CWS)
80-81 - Lemmie Miller (NC, MLB, WS)
80-83 - Bert Martinez (NC, 2CWS)
82-84 - Dave Graybill (2CWS)
85-86, 88 - Kurt Dempster (CWS)
86-89 - Dan Rumsey (AA, 2CWS)
86 - Roger Smith
86-87 - Mike Benjamin (MLB, ASU HOF, AA, CWS)
86-87 - Tim Esmay (USA, CWS)
87-88 - Blas Minor (MLB, 2CWS)
87 - Tony Mattia (CWS)
88 - Joe Rocha (CWS)
88-90 - Anthony Manahan (CWS)
89-91 - Mike Kelly (MLB, ASU HOF, 2POY, 3AA)
89-92 - Steve Brody
89-92 - Jim Henderson
93 - Paul Lo Duca (MLB, ASU HOF, POY, AA, CWS)
93-96 - Cody McKay (MLB, 2CWS)
96 - Widd Workman
96-97 - Tim Vasquez
99 - Abe Mohler
00-03 - Dennis Wyrick
00-04 - Garrett Schoenberger
02 - Doug Schutt
02-03 - Carlos Arguello
03-05 - Travis Buck (MLB, AA, USA, CWS)
03-05 - Erik Averill (CWS)
03-04, 06 - Frank Mesa
03-06 - Brett Bordes (CWS)
03-06 - Seth Dhaenens (CWS)
04-05 - Jason Urquidez (MiLB, AA, CWS)
04-06 - Colin Curtis (MLB, CWS)
04-07 - Joe Persichina (2CWS)
06 - Daryl Arreola
05, 07-08 - Greg Bordes (2CWS)
06-07 - CJ Retherford (CWS)
06-08 - Petey Paramore (USA, CWS)
06-07 - Matt Trink (CWS)
07-09 - Mike Leake (MLB, POY, 3AA, USA, 2CWS)
07-10 - Raoul Torrez (MiLB, 3CWS)
08-09, 11 -Andy Workman (MiLB, CWS)
08-11 - Matt Newman (MiLB, USA, 2CWS)
09 - Jared McDonald (CWS)
09 - Carlos Ramirez (MiLB, AA, CWS)
09-10 - Kole Calhoun (MLB, 2CWS)
09-10 - Jordan Swagerty (MiLB, AA, 2CWS)
09-11 - Austin Barnes (MiLB, 2CWS)
09-11 - Mitchell Lambson (MiLB, 2CWS)
09-11 - Riccio Torrez (MiLB, AA, 2CWS)
09-12 - Andrew Aplin (MiLB, 2CWS)
10 - Merrill Kelly (MiLB, CWS)
10-11 - Xorge Carrillo (MiLB, CWS)
10-12 - Joey DeMichele (MiLB, AA, CWS)
10-12 - Brady Rodgers (MiLB, AA, USA, CWS)
10-11 - Daniel Milner (CWS)
11 - Kramer Champlin (MiLB)
12 - Adrian Gomez
12 - Robert Ravago (MiLB)

Arizona State Sun Devils Baseball
Inside Baseball
More Headlines
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals