Don't have an account? Click Here
Pac-10 Champion Baseball Earns #1 National Seed, Will Face Wisconsin-Milwaukee In NCAA Tournament Opener
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 05/31/2010
Print RSS
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Related Links

May 31, 2010

TEMPE, Ariz. -

2010 Tempe Regional Bracket Get Acrobat Reader

2010 NCAA Baseball Tournament Bracket Get Acrobat Reader

The Arizona State Sun Devil Baseball team, champions of the Pac-10 Conference, have been named the #1 Overall Seed in the 2010 NCAA Baseball Tournament. The Sun Devils will open regional play on Friday when they take on Wisconsin-Milwaukee at 7 p.m. at Winkles Field-Packard Stadium at Brock Ballpark.

The Tempe regional field, announced today along with the rest of the 64-team bracket, features #2 seed San Diego, #3 Hawai'i and #4 seed Wisconsin-Milwaukee. San Diego and Hawai'i will face off in the first game on Friday at 2 p.m. from Winkles Field-Packard Stadium at Brock Ballpark

Friday, June 4
Game One, 2 p.m.- #2 San Diego vs. #3 Hawai'i
Game Two, 7 p.m.- #1 Arizona State vs. #4 Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Saturday, June 5
Game Three, 2 p.m.- Loser of Game One vs. Loser of Game Two (Loser Eliminated)
Game Four, 7 p.m.- Winner of Game One vs. Winner of Game Two

Sunday, June 6
Game Five, 1 p.m.- Winner of Game Three vs. Loser of Game Four (Loser Eliminated)
Game Six, 6 p.m.- Winner of Game Three vs. Winner of Game Five

Monday, June 7
Game Seven, 6:30 p.m.- Re-Match of Game Six (if Necessary)

Leading Off:

Pac-10 Champion Arizona State will make its 34th all-time NCAA Tournament appearance, 11th consecutive, when it hosts the Tempe Regional at Winkles Field-Packard Stadium at Brock Ballpark. This is the fourth straight year the Sun Devils will be a Regional host and the 19th time Packard Stadium will host an NCAA Regional.


National Seed:

Arizona State was named the #1 Overall Seed in the 2010 NCAA Tournament. The Sun Devils earned a national Top Eight seed for the fourth straight season and sixth time since the NCAA began using the format in 1999. This is the first time Arizona State will be the #1 national seed. They have twice been #5 (2007, 2009), #7 (2000, 2004) and #3 once (2008).


Zack Mac-Three:

Zack MacPhee’s triple on May 23rd against Oregon State gave him 14 on the season, passing Alan Bannister for the Arizona State single season record. Bannister, a 2010 College Baseball Hall of Fame Inductee, set the previous record of 13 in 1971, when college baseball still used wood bats.


Save Me!:

With his two saves at Stanford, Jordan Swagerty has taken over the top spot in the Arizona State record books for the most saves in a single season. The previous record was 12, held by Doug Nurnberg (1965) and Kevin Dukes (1981).

Historical Start To A Season:

The 24 straight wins to open the 2010 campaign is the best start in school history. The previous record was set by the 1961 team, who began the year 21-0. The 24-game winning streak also set the mark for the second longest winning streak in school history. The school record for longest winning streak is 32, set in 1972.


Historical Start To A Coaching Career:

With Arizona State’s 24-game winning streak to start the 2010 season, Head Coach Tim Esmay set a new standard for wins to start a career as Arizona State’s head baseball coach. Jim Brock held the previous record for best start by a first year coach, going 12-0 to begin his ASU coaching career in 1972. Pat Murphy won the first five games of his first season in 1995. Bobby Winkles began his career 0-1-1 in 1959, the first year of varsity baseball at Arizona State. Esmay also became the first coach in the modern era of Pac-10 play to win a conference title in his first season as head coach.

Sun Devil Grads:

Seniors Kole Calhoun, Raoul Torrez and Josh Spence all earned their BIS degrees from Arizona State on Saturday. The three traveled with the team to Tucson on Friday, then drove back to Tempe on Saturday morning to participate in graduation ceremonies. They then drove back to Tucson, making it in time for batting practice. To cap off the day, Calhoun hit his 10th home run of the season during a 12-4 victory.


Arizona State Sun Devils Baseball
Inside Baseball
More Headlines
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals