Don't have an account? Click Here
Casey Myers Named Semifinalist For Dick Howser Trophy
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 04/27/2001
Print RSS
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Related Links

April 27, 2001

  • Complete Release in PDF Format

    TEMPE, Ariz. -- Arizona State senior All-American catcher Casey Myers has been named a semifinalist for the Dick Howser Trophy as the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association National Player of the Year Award.

    Myers is enjoying a banner senior season with a .421 batting average, 54 RBI and six home runs while starting all 43 of ASU's games this year. Leading the Devils to a 28-14-1 record and a consistent Top 20 ranking, Myers is nearing the end of a career that has ranked him as one of the best players to ever wear the Maroon and Gold. With a .389 career batting average he currently ranks fourth in school history and is now just three hits short of becoming only the third Sun Devil in history to reach 300 in a career. With 260 RBI in his illustrious career, he is now just 23 short of matching the school and Pac-10 career records set by former Sun Devil Andrew Beinbrink (1996-1999).

    The Case Grande native was the 2000 Academic All-American of the Year in 2000 and is just a week away from receiving his diploma with a near 4.0 GPA in mathematics and accounting. He was the 2000 Pac-10 Player of the Year and is making a run at a repeat of that award with the third best batting average in the league.

    Twenty collegiate standouts were named as the semifinalists for the 2001 Dick Howser Trophy. The award is presented by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association, in conjunction with the St. Petersburg (Fla.) Chamber of Commerce and goes to the top college baseball player. Voting on the award is done by the more than 200-person membership of the NCBWA. Past winners of the award include current Major Leaguers Todd Helton (1995), Kris Benson (1996), Jason Varitek (1993), Robin Ventura (1988) and J.D. Drew (1997).

    Jeff Baker, 3B, Clemson
    Brian Baron, OF, UCLA
    Kenny Baugh, P, Rice
    Dewon Brazelton, P, Middle Tennessee
    Jeff Bruksch, P, Stanford
    Chris Burke, SS, Tennessee
    Frank Corr, OF, Stetson
    Nate Fernley, P, Brigham Young
    Jake Gautreau, 3B, Tulane
    John-Ford Griffin, OF, Florida State
    Aaron Heilman, P, Notre Dame
    Dan Johnson, 1B, Nebraska
    Richard Lewis, 2B, Georgia Tech
    Casey Myers, C, Arizona State
    Mark Prior, P, Southern California
    Kirk Saarloos, P, Cal State Fullerton
    Kelly Shoppach, C, Baylor
    Cory Sullivan, OF, Wake Forest
    Daniel Uggla, 2B, Memphis
    John Vanbenschoten, DH/ATH, Kent State
    --Sun Devil Baseball--

    Copy By Jeff R. Evans
    ASU Media Relations

  • Arizona State Sun Devils Baseball
    Inside Baseball
    More Headlines
    Sun Devil Mail
    FB Renewals
    MBB Renewals
    MBB Renewals
    Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
    FB Renewals