Don't have an account? Click Here
MBB Renewals
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Felix, Ezugha Awarded Pac-12 Tom Hansen Medal
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 07/03/2013
Print RSS
Related Links

TEMPE - Arizona State University student-athletes Carrick Felix and Constance Ezugha were selected as recipients of the 2012-13 Pac-12 Tom Hansen Conference Medal of Honor recipients, as announced by the Pac-12 on Wednesday.

A Conference Medal is awarded annually to each member institution's outstanding senior male and female student-athlete based on the exhibition of the greatest combination of performance and achievement in scholarship, athletics and leadership.

Felix, a standout on the Sun Devil men's basketball team, graduated with his B.S. in Communications in the spring of 2012 and earned a Master's degree in Liberal Studies in May of 2013.  He was the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year and a first-team Pac-12 All-Academic Team honoree.

A local product out of Millenium High School, he finished his three-year career in convincing fashion by earning second-team All-Pac-12 honors as he led the Pac-12 in double-doubles with 13. 

He earned a spot on the five-man Pac-12 All-Defensive Team,. He was an ironman as he averaged 37.7 minutes in the 18 Pac-12 games, second in the league. His nine double-doubles in Pac-12 games also led the league. He was recently drafted 33rd overall by the Cleveland Cavaliers in the 2013 NBA Draft. 

Ezugha, who was also recently honored with NCAA and Pac-12 Postgraduate Scholarship honors, was a three-time letterwinner for the Sun Devil track and field program.  She was the 2012 Pac-12 Champion in the long jump and a two-time All-American in the event.

Ezugha was a four-time member of the Dean's List and President of the Sun Devil Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and was twice named to both the MPSF, USTFCCCA and Pac-12 All-Academic teams.  She recently earned her B.S. in Speech and Hearing Science.

An Arthur Ashe Sports-Scholar, Ezugha donated many hours to community service, taking mark in numerous activities ranging from clothing and canned food drives to cleaning and recycling activities as well as serving as a tour guide and guest speaker to youth from across the Valley.  She recently completed an internship with Dr. Ahn and Perez, DDS.

Conference medal winners have been named every year since the 1960-61 academic year. In 2009, the Pac-12 renamed the award the Tom Hansen Conference Medal in honor of Hansen, who retired at the end of June 2009 after serving for 26 years as Commissioner of the Pac-10. 

2012-13 Pac-12 Tom Hansen Medal of Honor Recipients 


John Bonano, Football

Brigetta Barrett, Track & Field

Arizona State

Carrick Felix, Basketball

Constance Ezugha, Track & Field


Tom Shields, Swimming/Diving

Layshia Clarendon, Basketball


Sabatino Chen, Basketball

Emma Coburn, Cross Country/T&F


Michael Clay, Football

Alaina Bergsma, Volleyball

Oregon State

Matt Boyd, Baseball

Makayla Stambaugh, Gymnastics


Mark Appel, Baseball

Becky Dru, Field Hockey


Jeff Locke, Football

Vanessa Zamarripa, Gymnastics


Matt Barkley, Football

Melanie Grindle, Rowing


Miles Havlik, Skiing

Rachel Messer, Basketball


Jeremy Taiwo, Track & Field

Christine Babcock, Track & Field

Washington State

Adam Nelubowich, Baseball

Liudmila Vasilieva, Tennis

Arizona State Sun Devils Men's Basketball
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals