Don't have an account? Click Here
WBB Moneymaker
Wrestling ST
WBB Moneymaker
ASU Heads to Wichita
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 06/21/1999
Print RSS
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Related Links
May 18, 1998 TEMPE, Ariz. - Arizona State received a third-seed and a trip to Wichita, Kansas, for the 1998 NCAA Baseball Tournament, the selection committee announced today. The Sun Devils will face fourth-seeded Arkansas this Thursday, May 21 at 9 a.m. PT. ASU finished the regular season with a 34-21 record, 18-11 and third place in the Pac-10. It is ASU's 23rd NCAA Tournament appearance.

The top-seed in the Midwest is second-ranked Wichita State, who finished the season with a 55-5 record. The Shockers will face sixth-seed Southeast Missouri State in the first round. The third first-round game in the six-team regional will be between second-seed Georgia Tech and fifth-seeded Oklahoma State.

Four Pac-10 teams were given bids to the 48-team tournament. Joining ASU was Stanford (No. 1 seed in the West), USC (No. 1 seed in the East) and Washington (No. 3 seed in the Central).

ASU and Arkansas have met only once before in the history of the two programs. The Razorbacks defeated ASU 1-0 in the 1989 NCAA Regional in Waterbury, Conn. If ASU wins its first round game, it will play the winner of the Georgia Tech-Oklahoma State game on Friday at 5 p.m. PT. If the Sun Devils lose on Thursday, they would play the winner of the Wichita State-SE Missouri State game Friday at 1 p.m. PT. It is a double-elimination tournament.

1998 NCAA Baseball Tournament - Midwest Regional
All Times Pacific

Thursday, May 21 Game 1 - #3 ASU vs. #4 Arkansas, 9 a.m. Game 2 - #2 Georgia Tech vs. #5 Oklahoma State, 1 p.m. Game 3 - #1 Wichita State vs. #6 Southeast Missouri State, 5 p.m.

Friday, May 22 Game 4 - Loser 3 vs. Loser 2, 9 a.m. Game 5 - Winner 3 vs. Loser 1, 1 p.m. Game 6 - Winner 1 vs. Winner 2, 5 p.m.

Remaining Schedule to be determined by number of teams remaining.

1998 NCAA Tournament

EAST - at Clemson, S.C. 1. USC 2. Clemson 3. Virginia Commonwealth 4. South Alabama 5. Citadel 6. Fordham

ATLANTIC I - at Miami, Fla. 1. Miami 2. South Carolina 3. North Carolina 4. Texas Tech 5. Florida International 6. Bowling Green

ATLANTIC II - at Tallahasee, Fla. 1. Florida State 2. Auburn 3. Delaware 4. Oklahoma 5. Rutgers 6. Liberty

SOUTH I - at Gainesville, Fla. 1. Florida 2. Wake Forest 3. Baylor 4. Richmond 5. Illinois 6. Monmouth

SOUTH II - at Baton Rouge, La. 1. Louisiana State 2. Cal State Fullerton 3. Tulane 4. Southwestern Louisiana 5. Harvard 6. Nicholls State

CENTRAL - at College Station, Texas 1. Rice 2. Texas A&M 3. Washington 4. Mississippi State 5. UNC Charlotte 6. Oral Roberts

MIDWEST - at Wichita, Kansas 1. Wichita State 2. Georgia Tech 3. Arizona State 4. Arkansas 5. Oklahoma State 6. SE Missouri State

WEST - at Stanford, Calif. 1. Stanford 2. Alabama 3. Long Beach State 4. N.C. State 5. Minnesota 6. LMU

Arizona State Sun Devils Men's Basketball
Sun Devil Mail
MBB Mini
Desert Hockey Classic