Don't have an account? Click Here
MBB Renewals
Urquidez Named To Clemens Award Watch List
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 02/27/2004
Print RSS
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Related Links

Feb. 27, 2004

TEMPE, Ariz. ( -- Arizona State starting pitcher Jason Urquidez is part of a list of 40 hurlers who are included in the first Roger Clemens Award Watch List.

The list is comprised of all Division I pitchers who were named as pre-season All-Americans by either Baseball America or Collegiate Baseball, in addition to those pitchers who have been honored so far this season as National Pitchers of the Week by the National College Baseball Writers Association. Weekly winners of the writer's award will be added to the list until the close of the first round of voting at the end of April. Additional nominees will be added to the ballot based on notable performances and rankings in the NCAA statistical rankings.

Urquidez earned national POW honors from Collegiate Baseball, NCBWA, Sports Weekly and He was also named the Pac-10 Pitcher of the Week after his complete-game three-hitter against No. 1 and defending national champion Rice Owls at Reckling Park in Houston last weekend

A junior college transfer from Central Arizona, Urquidez limited the top-ranked Owls to only one run on three hits, while striking out seven and walking only one. He gave up his only run in his 138-pitch effort with a two-out single in the bottom of the ninth inning. With his third victory of the year, Urquidez went head-to-head with and beat the nation's top pitching prospect in Rice ace Jeff Niemann. Niemann, who is also on the initial Clemens Watch List, recorded his first loss since late in the 2002 season after going 17-0 as a sophomore in 2003.

For the season, the Simi Valley, Calif., native is 3-0 with a 0.90 ERA. He has allowed only 12 hits and struck out a team-leading 23 in 20.0 IP. The honor marks the fourth straight year ASU has won a national pitcher of the week award in the month of February. He became ASU's 47th all-time Pac-10 Pitcher of the Week.

In its inaugural year, The Roger Clemens Award will be presented to the nation's top college pitcher at the conclusion of a gala dinner in Houston on July 15. All Division I head baseball coaches will take part in the voting for the honor, in addition to a selected panel of national media and all past winners of the Rotary Smith Award, which was retired after the 2003 dinner by the committee that is sponsoring the Clemens Award.

The award was named after future Hall of Famer Roger Clemens, who began his march to stardom while leading the University of Texas to the College World Series title in 1983. As a professional, Clemens has won over 300 games, fanned over 4,000 hitters and won and six Cy Young Awards, emblematic as the top pitcher in his league. The Roger Clemens Award is the only award of its kind, honoring the finest pitchers in college baseball.

Net proceeds from The Roger Clemens Award gala dinner and auction will benefit amateur baseball. For media information on The Roger Clemens Award, please contact Chuck Pool (832) 244-6476 or by email (

(as of February 26, 2004)

Randy Beam, Florida Atlantic
Eric Beattie, Tampa
Jason Bolinski, Richmond
Zane Carlson, Baylor
Brent Carter, Alabama
Steven Carter, Coastal Carolina
Joey Charron, Tulane
J.D. Cockroft, Miami (Fla.)
Joey Devine, North Carolina St.
Thomas Diamond, New Orleans
Matt Durkin, San Jose State
Will Fenton, Washington
Adam Gold, California
Stephen Head, Mississippi
J.P. Howell, Texas
Philip Humber, Rice
Clayton Jerome, TCU
Chris Lambert, Boston College
Mark McCormick, Baylor
Dustin Miller, Cal. St. Fullerton
Jeff Niemann, Rice
Chris Niesel, Notre Dame
Justin Orenduff, Va. Commonwealth
Micah Owings, Georgia Tech
Mike Pelfrey, Wichita St.
David Purcey, Oklahoma
Glen Perkins, Minnesota
Steven Register, Auburn
Michael Rogers, North Carolina St.
Mark Romanczuk, Stanford
Ryan Schroyer, San Diego St.
Jeremy Sowers, Vanderbilt
Vern Sterry, North Carolina St.
Huston Street, Texas
Wade Townsend, Rice
Jason Urquidez , Arizona State
Justin Verlander, Old Dominion
Jered Weaver, Long Beach State
Wes Whisler, UCLA
Jason Windsor, Cal. St. Fullerton
--Sun Devil Baseball--
Arizona State Sun Devils Women's Basketball
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals