Don't have an account? Click Here
Katelyn Boyd Named Top 3 Softball Player of the Year Finalist
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 05/23/2012
Print RSS
Related Links

May 23, 2012

Watch Boyd and the Sun Devils this weekend here:
Thursday 7 p.m. PT
Friday 6 p.m. PT
Friday 8:30 p.m. if necessary

The Amateur Softball Association (ASA) of America and USA Softball announced today the Top 3 Finalist for the 11th Annual USA Softball National Collegiate Player of the Year Award. Katelyn Boyd of the Arizona State softball team is making her second appearance on the final ballot, her last being in 2011.

This award, which is considered the most prestigious honor in Division I women's collegiate softball, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country.  California's Valerie Arioto (Pleasanton, Calif.), Arizona State's Katelyn Boyd (Phoenix, Ariz.), and Oklahoma's Keilani Ricketts (San Jose, Calif.) are the three remaining athletes in the running and would be the first to win this award from each of their schools.

A significant contributor to Arizona State, Katelyn Boyd was named to the Pac-12 First Team as well as the league's overall Batting Champion. The senior is currently second in the NCAA with 72 total runs on the year and fifth with a .571 on-base percentage.  Boyd's .444 batting average is seventh best in the country and she ranks twelfth nationally with 19 home runs. Including postseason, the senior infielder has started in all 57 games played. No. 2 Arizona State will meet up with No. 10 Louisiana this weekend in Tempe, Ariz., for Super Regionals with the winner advancing to the WCWS.

The winner of the 2012 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award will be announced on May 29 at the athlete only banquet just prior to the 2012 WCWS.

The USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award is voted on by coaching representatives from 11 Division I Conferences in the 15 ASA Regions as well as members of the media who consistently cover Division I Softball across the country, and previous Player of the Year recipients.

About ASA 
The Amateur Softball Association, founded in 1933, is the National Governing Body of softball in the United States and a member of the United States Olympic Committee. The ASA has become one of the nation's largest sports organizations and now sanctions competition in every state through a network of 76 local associations. The ASA has grown from a few hundred teams in the early days to over 200,000 teams today, representing a membership of more than three million. For more information on the ASA, visit 

About USA Softball 
USA Softball is the brand created, operated and owned by the ASA that links the USA Men's, Women's, Junior Boys' and Junior Girls' National Team programs together. USA Softball is responsible for training, equipping and promoting these four National Teams to compete in international and domestic competitions. The USA Softball Women's National Team is one of only two women's sports involved in the Olympic movement to capture three consecutive gold medals at the Olympic Games since 1996. The U.S. women have also won nine World Championship titles including the last seven consecutive as well as claimed five World Cup of Softball titles. For more information about USA Softball, please visit

Arizona State Sun Devils Athletics
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals