Don't have an account? Click Here
Men's Golf 2012-13 Schedule Includes Four States In Five Weeks In September
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 06/22/2012
Print RSS
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Related Links

June 22, 2012

√ Click here for the two-time NCAA champion and 12-time Pac-10/12 champion 2012-13 Sun Devil men's golf schedule

√ Want to know how the Sun Devils did at past postseason events? Click here for easy access...
√ Click here for a listing of every Sun Devil Pac-10/12 title in all sports...
√ Click here for a list of Sun Devil men's golfers who have earned their degrees under from 1993-present
√ Sun Devil All-Time Team Tournament Victories
√ Sun Devil All-Time Medalists

The two-time NCAA champion Sun Devil men's golf team under second-year head coach Tim Mickelson will begin its 2012-13 season in Minnesota on Sept. 9-10 at the Gopher Invitational, host its annual Thunderbird Invitational April 5-7 and host NCAA Regional play May 15-17. The team will play five fall events within six weeks in four states as it will play in the Kikkor Golf Husky Invitational in Bremerton, Wash. (Sept. 17-18), the Pac-12 Preview in Portland on Oct. 6-7, the Alister McKenzie Invitational in Fairfax (Oct. 15-16) and the Bill Cullum Invitational in Westlake Village, Calif. (Oct. 22-23).

The Sun Devils open the spring in Tucson at the Arizona Inviational (Jan. 28-29), then are off to Hawaii Feb. 6-8 for the Amer Ari Invitational (Waikoloa, Hawaii). The Sun Devils stay in California for three tournaments as they will play in The Prestige (Feb. 18-20) in Palm Desert, at the North Ranch Intercollegiate in Westlake Village (Feb. 25-26) and in the San Diego Intercollegiate (March 11-12).

The Sun Devils will host the Thunderbird Invitational April 5-7 in Tempe at Karsten Golf Course then travel to the Western Intercollegiate in San Jose April 13-14.

The Pac-12 Championship will be held in Los Angeles April 29-May 1, with NCAA Regional set for mid-May at Karsten as well and the NCAA Finals in Atlanta in early June. Arizona State has won 12 Pac-10 titles in its 34 seasons, including a conference record six straight from 1995-2000. In addition to the six straight Pac-10 titles, ASU's other five Pac-10 titles have come in 1979 (its first year in the league), 1981, 1989, 1990, 1993 and 2008. ASU tied for the league title in 2005 with Washington but lost on a tiebreaker formula, and the league decided to go to a playoff format after that season.

The Sun Devils return sophomore Austin Quick, a native of Scottsdale, Ariz., and graduate of Chaparral High School, along with senior Jin Song and sophomore Mathias Schjoelberg of Norway.

ARIZONA STATE (12): 2008, 2000, 1999, 1998, 1997, 1996, 1995, 1993, 1990, 1989, 1981, 1979
USC (7): 2011, 2007, 2002, 2001, 1986, 1984, 1980
UCLA (5): 2006, 2003, 1985, 1983, 1982
WASHINGTON (4): 2010, 2009, 2005, 1988
ARIZONA (3): 2004, 1991, 1987
STANFORD (2): 1994, 1992

Sun Devil coach Tim Mickelson enters his second season with the Sun Devils and he started his career at ASU and concluded it at Oregon State. He earned Academic All-Pac-10 honors in 1997 and 1998. At OSU, Mickelson finished second individually at the 2000 Pac- 10 Championships behind Sun Devil Paul Casey. The current holder of numerous OSU golf records, including low 18, 36, 54, and 72-hole scoring records, Mickelson graduated Cum Laude with a Bachelor of Science degree in Liberal Studies.

Paul Casey won three straight Pac-10 titles from 1998-2000, which is the last time a Sun Devil won the title and is a conference record for consecutive Pac-10 titles. Other Sun Devils who have won the Pac-10 championship are Scott Johnson (1997), Phil Mickelson (1990), co-medalists Dan Forsman and Tony Grimes (1981), Jim Bertoncino (co-medalist in 1980) and co-medalists Scott Watkins and Dan Croonquist (1979).
Arizona State Sun Devils Athletics
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals